11 Irish and Sunday Independent journalists were shortlisted for the awards

Eleven journalists from the Irish and Sunday Independents have been shortlisted for the prestigious UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards, along with peers from RTE, The Irish Times, Business Post and other media outlets.

n all 30 journalists were shortlisted in seven award categories.

The Irish Independent’s Jason Corcoran and John Mulligan were shortlisted for Business News Story of the Year for their report on the billions of euros in Irish planes trapped in Russia as a result of the Ukraine invasion and EU counter-sanctions.

The Indo Daily podcast is shortlisted for Audio Story of the Year, including work by Shane Phelan, Adrian Weckler, Fionnán Sheahan, Mary Carroll and John Smith, and work by RTE’s Adam Maguire.

The Sunday Independent’s Sean Pollock has been shortlisted for Business Feature of the Year.

Irish Independent Technology Editor Adrian Weckler and Sunday Independent Business Editor Samantha McCaughren were each shortlisted in the Business Analysis category, while the Sunday Independent’s Fearghal O’Connor is nominated for Interview of the Year.

Samantha McCaughren has also been nominated for a new Women in Business Journalism Award alongside Silicon Republic’s Elaine Burke and Irish Examiner’s Cáit Caden.

The awards are sponsored by the Bank of Ireland and recognize excellence in Irish business journalism across the media spectrum. Entries are submitted by the nominees themselves or on behalf of journalists by their editors or colleagues.

The awards are presented by an independent jury made up of leaders from business, media and academia. This year’s independent judging panel was chaired by Breege O’Donoghue, one of the country’s most successful retail executives, a Primark brand ambassador and a member of various business and charitable bodies.

https://www.independent.ie/business/11-irish-and-sunday-independent-journalists-shortlisted-for-awards-42170218.html 11 Irish and Sunday Independent journalists were shortlisted for the awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button