3 scientists win Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their work on tiny quantum dots


STOCKHOLM (AP) — Three scientists have won Nobel Prize in chemistry for her work on tiny quantum dots.

Moungi Bawendi of MIT, Louis Brus of Columbia University and Alexei Ekimov of Nanocrystals Technology Inc. were honored for their work with tiny particles that are just a few atoms in diameter and whose electrons allow limited movement. This affects the way they absorb and emit visible light, allowing for very bright colors. They are used in many electronic devices, such as LED displays.

“These tiny particles have unique properties and now spread their light from television screens and LED lamps. They catalyze chemical reactions and their clear light can illuminate tumor tissue for a surgeon,” said the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which announced the award in Stockholm.

In a highly unusual twist, Swedish media published the names of the winners before the prize was announced.

The academy did not comment on the leaked names before the announcement.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards prizes in physics, chemistry and economics, solicits nominations a year in advance from thousands of university professors and other scientists around the world.

A committee for each award then discusses the candidates at a series of meetings throughout the year. At the end of the process, the committee presents one or more proposals to the entire Academy for a vote. The deliberations, including the names of nominees other than the winners, will be kept confidential for 50 years.

On Tuesday, the physics prize went to French-Swedish physicist Anne L’Huillier, French scientist Pierre Agostini and Hungarian-born Ferenc Krausz for the first split-second glimpse into the superfast world of rotating electrons.

The tiny part of each atom races around the center and is fundamental to virtually everything: chemistry, physics, our bodies and our devices.

On Monday, the Hungarian-American Katalin Karikó and the American Drew Weissman won Nobel Prize for Medicine for discoveries that enabled the development of mRNA vaccines against COVID-19.

Last year, Americans Carolyn R. Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless and Danish scientist Morten Meldal shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing a method for ” Molecules snap together” This can be used to research cells, map DNA and develop drugs that can combat diseases such as cancer in a more targeted manner.

The chemistry prize means that the Nobel season has reached its halfway point. The Prizes for Literature, Peace and Economy follow, with an announcement every weekday until October 9th.

The Nobel Foundation increased the prize money by 10% this year to 11 million crowns (about $1 million). In addition to the money, winners will receive an 18-karat gold medal and a diploma when they accept their Nobel Prizes at the awards ceremonies in December.

Corder reported from The Hague, Netherlands.

Follow all AP stories about the Nobel Prizes at

Related Articles

Back to top button