INSTAGRAM users should check their settings to ensure that an important feature has been disabled.
Other Instagram users can track your activity.
But with the right settings, you can ensure that you’re operating in secret.
Instagram may be visible to others when you were last online and active.
This is enabled by default when you sign up for Instagram.
Thankfully, you can turn it off completely.
Importantly, if you turn it off, you won’t be able to see when other people are online either.
But for those concerned about privacy, it’s certainly a trade-off worth considering.
So how do you turn it off?
Open the Instagram app, then navigate to your profile on your iPhone or Android.
Tap Settings and then go to Privacy.
Now select Active Status and set the switch to Off.
This means that people you follow or privately messaged can no longer see how recently you’ve been online.
People who aren’t in that category won’t be able to see your status.
It also turns off Show when you are active together to hide your activity status in DM.
Online status appears as a green name next to the username and photo.
And in your DM, you’ll see recent activity next to the person’s name.
You can also disable the feature on your PC by navigating to Settings > Privacy & Security, then unchecking the box next to Show activity status.
Importantly, having your Activity Status off will not affect your read receipts.
There’s no setting to turn off read receipts, although you can “Restrict” accounts so they can’t see when you’ve read messages.
But this limits your interaction in other ways, so it’s not an ideal solution.
Turning off Active Status is very common and is a great idea for those worried about their privacy – and the risk of being tracked.
- Read all the latest Phones & Gadgets news
- Stay up to date with Apple stories
- Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram
Best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Looking for tips and tricks for your phone? Want to find those secret features in social networking apps? We have you covered…
In other news, Google Chrome users have been asked to clear their browser.
Facebook recently rebranded to Meta.
Test Best deals for iPhone 13.
And look at hidden Facebook disavow folder.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Science & Technology team? Email us at the address firstname.lastname@example.org
https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8186736/instagram-privacy-settings-activity-status-turn-off/ All Instagram users warned to check settings TODAY or risk being tracked