Technology

Apple warns EVERY iPhone user about creepy tracking – check model now

APPLE urges all iPhone users to review their privacy settings.

The California tech giant has issued a new alert to help gadget users prevent fraudulent companies and crooks from accessing their personal information.

With the right iPhone settings, you can take back control of your private data

5

With the right iPhone settings, you can take back control of your private dataCredit: apple
A new Apple ad imagines real-world auctions where your data is sold in full view

5

A new Apple ad imagines real-world auctions where your data is sold in full viewCredit: apple

It’s part of a new privacy campaign that reveals how shady companies – and even megabrands – are hijacking massive amounts of our data and then reselling it.

Apple has created a brand new TV ad that compares the system to an auction of your private life.

“Over the past decade, a large and opaque industry has accumulated increasing amounts of personal data,” Apple said.

“A complex ecosystem of websites, apps, social media companies, data brokers and ad tech firms track users online and offline and collect their personal information.

“This data is pieced together, shared, aggregated and used in real-time auctions, powering a $227 billion annual industry.

“This happens every day as people go about their daily lives, often without their knowledge or permission.”

Apple has been very vocal about iPhone privacy over the past few years.

And it has rolled out a variety of important changes to protect users.

Some of these updates have even sparked outrage from data-guzzling companies like Facebook.

Apple is now urging users to review their iPhone settings to ensure they are protected as best as possible.

Check iPhone privacy features NOW

These are some of the best iPhone privacy features to check out right now…

location services

Go to your settings to make sure you don’t share your location with apps that don’t need it.

You can even restrict apps to using your location once.

And you can also share your approximate location instead of your exact position.

Intelligent Tracking Prevention

This is a Safari feature that blocks trackers from following you across the web.

It’s on by default, so just make sure you’ve never turned it off.

App tracking transparency

This forces apps to get your permission before tracking your activity across other apps and websites.

This popup appears when you open a new app for the first time.

Just tell the app not to track you to protect your privacy.

App Privacy Report

If you are using iOS 15.2 or later, you can turn on App Privacy Report.

This shows how often apps access your data.

This can include your location, camera, microphone and more.

It will uncover apps that are exploiting you.

Safari Privacy Report

This is similar to App Privacy Report but for websites.

On Safari for Mac, you can see who has been blocked from tracking you.

encryption

Make sure you use encrypted messaging services like iMessage or WhatsApp.

Apple encrypts iMessage and FaceTime communications so they can’t be accessed without your passcode.

No one else – including Apple – can intercept and view these communications.

Email Privacy

Available in the Mail app, this feature prevents email senders from learning about you.

You can’t see how many times you’ve viewed an email, whether you’ve forwarded it, your IP address, and more.

ApplePay

Apple can’t see what you’re buying when you use Apple Pay.

Your credit or debit card information will not be stored.

Major Royal was spotted taking the tube - and even chatting with fellow commuters
You can rent this British party house - with its own nightclub and arcade

All of this information is stored on the iPhone itself.

And transaction information is only shared with you, the merchant and your bank.

Make sure apps don't track you online

5

Make sure apps don’t track you onlineCredit: apple
You can see which apps are exploiting you

5

You can see which apps are exploiting youCredit: apple
Don't share your location with apps unless it's necessary — and consider using "once only" option if necessary

5

Don’t share your location with apps unless it’s necessary — and consider the “just once” option if necessaryCredit: apple
  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
  • Stay up to date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8816553/iphone-privacy-ad-settings-check-data-sharing/ Apple warns EVERY iPhone user about creepy tracking – check model now

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button