Asked millions of iPhone owners to check settings – it’s dangerous not to

EVERY iPhone owner should check one important feature that can help keep you safe.

Aptly named Safety Check, it can stop snoopers from spying on you.

Your iPhone has an important feature that you should check today

1

Your iPhone has an important feature that you should check todayCredit: apple

The feature is brand new in iOS 16 and aims to show you who your information is shared with.

If you’ve owned an iPhone for a few years, chances are you’ve shared private content with others.

This could be your location or a photo album, which might have felt good back then, but not anymore.

For example, you might have an abusive ex who might be watching what you’re doing online.

Or an insidious online crook has found its way into your iPhone.

In any case, Safety Check can put a stop to dangerous sniffing.

“If your personal security is at risk, you can use Security Checkup on iPhone (with iOS 16 or later) to quickly stop sharing your information or review and update sharing with individuals and apps,” Apple said.

“When using Safety Check, keep in mind that if you stop sharing your information with them, others may notice that if you stop sharing relationships, you may lose access to data like shared photos and notes.”

To find Safety Check, first make sure you’re signed in to an iPhone with your Apple ID using two-factor authentication.

After logging in, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Security Check.

According to Apple, you can use Safety Check to:

  • Review and remove devices signed into your account
  • Check and update trusted phone numbers
  • Change your Apple ID password
  • Update your emergency contacts
  • Update your device passcode and Face ID or Touch ID information

There is also an option called Emergency Reset.

This will immediately stop sharing all items in the list above.

“Become familiar with the ‘Safety Check’ feature in iOS 16,” cyber expert Chris Hauk told The Sun.

“Safety Check allows users to review and reset access they’ve granted other users,” said Hauk, a consumer privacy advocate at Pixel Privacy.

“Here you can reset privacy permissions for apps and restrict Messages and FaceTime to your device.

“This feature can be particularly useful for victims of domestic violence.”

People are noticing four mind-blowing iPhone secrets right now
Millions of iPhone owners have warned against checking three settings at once

Safety Check will examine a variety of commonly shared apps.

These include Health, Home, Calendar, Find My Places, Notes, and Photos.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9804078/iphone-safety-check-how-to-ios/ Asked millions of iPhone owners to check settings – it’s dangerous not to

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button