WHATSAPP allows users to delete embarrassing messages after they’ve been sent – but the system is far from foolproof.
A TikTok star recently went viral after sharing a workaround that allows chat app users to read withdrawn messages.
British Gadget Guru TA Tech Tips divided the cheeky trick with its 565,000 followers on the Chinese video sharing platform.
“We’ve all been in a chat where someone deleted a message and you’re dying to know what’s in it,” the TikTok techie says in the clip.
“On Android, you can do this by going to your notification history in your settings.”
To do this, open the “Settings” app on your Android device and search for “Notification History”. Tap on it and select “On”.
If you receive a message now that is later deleted, you can retrieve it by going back to your notification history.
As before, launch the Settings app and search for “Notification History”. Tap on it. The deleted messages appear under Recently Closed.
Unfortunately, Apple’s iOS operating system doesn’t have a notification log, so the trick won’t work on your iPhone.
Most Read in Phones & Gizmos
DELETE WHATSAPP MESSAGES
WhatsApp has allowed users to delete their recently sent messages since 2017.
The app has published a guide on how to “Delete messages for everyone” after release.
It wrote: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages that you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.
“This is especially useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains an error.
“Messages you’ve successfully deleted for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message has been deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.
“Similarly, if you see ‘This message has been deleted’ in a chat, that means the sender has deleted their message for everyone to see.
“You can only delete messages for everyone up to seven minutes after they’ve been sent. After seven minutes, there is no option to delete messages for everyone.”
To delete messages after sending, just tap and hold the message, tap delete, then press delete for all.
However, to do this successfully, both the person who sent a message and the person receiving it must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
“Recipients can see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was unsuccessful,” WhatsApp warned.
“You will not be notified if deleting all is unsuccessful.”
The callback feature works for any type of message, including text, images, and videos.
- Read the latest phone and gadget news
- Stay up to date on Apple stories
- Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram
The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
https://www.thesun.ie/tech/7439421/whatsapp-how-to-read-deleted-texts-hack/ Awesome WhatsApp hack to read DELETED texts revealed on TikTok