FACEBOOK is making a big change that could impact how you regain access to your account if you ever get banned.
The social network plans to end Trusted Connections, an emergency feature that certain friends or family members could use to help you get back on.
It’s especially useful if you’ve forgotten your password and your Facebook profile is linked to an old email address that you no longer have.
The feature is also important if you have also been attacked by a hacker.
An alert appeared Thursday, urging users to “review your security to avoid being locked out.”
The company warns people to make sure their email address and phone number are up to date before permanently ending trusted contacts.
It’s not clear when Facebook plans to discontinue the option.
Mark Zuckerberg’s website has not given a reason why the extra layer of security is being removed.
“Trusted contacts will soon disappear,” the company said.
“This means that if you lose access to your account, your selected friends can no longer help you get back on Facebook.
“Make sure your email address and phone number are up to date in your account settings.”
Given that there are trusted contacts out there, it’s more important than ever to make sure your email address and contact number are correct.
Check yours now by opening the settings and go to Personal and Account Information.
Choose contact information and you will see all the email addresses and phone numbers Facebook has for you.
- Read the latest phone and gadget news
- Stay up to date on Apple stories
- Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram
The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…
Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at email@example.com
https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8860977/facebook-shutting-trusted-contacts/ Billions of Facebook users have been warned to check account settings NOW — or you could be locked out