Cat Power Drops Inventive Covers of Frank Ocean, Pogues Classics

Cat Power has introduced a brand new album of covers — succinctly dubbed Covers — and she or he’s dropped two tracks from the LP, renditions of Frank Ocean’s “Dangerous Faith” and the Pogues’ “A Pair of Brown Eyes.” 

For her cowl of “Dangerous Faith,” Cat Energy latches onto the pulsing piano on the music’s coronary heart, drops heavier rock drums beneath it, and laces the music with smoldering guitar strains. Together with releasing the album model of the music, Cat Energy shared a reside studio efficiency of “Dangerous Faith” on The Late Late Present With James Corden Wednesday, October sixth.

In a press release, Cat Energy mentioned her cowl of “Dangerous Faith” got here out of a creeping exhaustion she felt when performing her personal music, “In Your Face,” whereas on tour. “That music was bringing me down. So I began pulling out lyrics from ‘Dangerous Faith’ and singing these as a substitute of getting tremendous depressed. Performing covers is a really fulfilling option to do one thing that feels pure to me relating to making music.” 

Cat Energy’s rendition of the Pogues’ “A Pair of Brown Eyes” is equally creative, with the musician doing away fully with the unique’s marching drums, and as a substitute crafting an aching, nebulous soundscape out of her voice and what feels just like the heavy breath of a synth or organ. 

Covers — which is able to observe Cat Energy’s 2018 album Wanderer — is about to reach on January 14th, 2022 through Domino. The tracklist additionally consists of songs by Useless Man’s Bones, Bob Seger, Iggy Pop, Kitty Wells, Nick Cave, the Replacements, Billie Vacation, and Jackson Brown. Cat Energy additionally included an up to date model of her music “Hate,” from 2006’s The Biggest, retitled “Unhate.” 

Covers Tracklist 

1. “Dangerous Faith” – Frank Ocean
2. “Unhate” – Cat Energy – Chan Marshall
3. “Pa Pa Energy” – Useless Man’s Bones
4. “A Pair of Brown Eyes” – The Pogues
5. “Towards the Wind” – Bob Seger
6. “Infinite Sea” – Iggy Pop
7. “These Days” – Jackson Browne
8. “It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels” – Kitty Wells
9. “I Had a Dream Joe” – Nick Cave
10. “Right here Comes a Common” – The Replacements
11. “I’ll Be Seeing You” – Billie Vacation

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-news/cat-power-covers-frank-ocean-the-pogues-1238009/ | Cat Energy Drops Ingenious Covers of Frank Ocean, Pogues Classics


Fry Electronics is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − two =

Back to top button