Channel 4 is the winning channel of the year in Edinburgh as privatization threat looms

Channel 4 won channel of the year award at the Edinburgh TV Awards as it faces an uncertain future amid threats of privatization.

The government announced plans earlier this year to move the broadcaster out of public ownership so it can better survive in a media landscape dominated by Netflix and Amazon.

Channel 4, which celebrates its 40th birthday this year, is the most successful broadcaster at this year’s awards, winning six of the 20 awards.


AJ Odudu and Mo Gilligan Host Big Breakfast on Channel 4 (Ricky Darko / Channel 4 / PA)

The chairman of the Edinburgh TV Awards jury, Sue Vertue, presented the channel of the year award to the broadcaster’s chief content officer, Ian Katz, at an awards ceremony held on Thursday as part of the Television Festival. Edinburgh.

Accepting the award, Katz said: “This is a lovely 40th birthday present. It’s especially lovely coming after a complicated year for us. “

He added that he was “extremely proud” of the television the broadcaster had put out over the past year, and said: “I hope it’s a year that reminds people what channel 4 is and even has Maybe why it’s important.”

The channel also picked up awards for best presenter, which went to The Big Breakfast’s AJ Odudu and Mo Gilligan, as well as Munya Chawawa winning the breakout presenter award for his comedic show. It’s a Welcome Complaint.

Comedian Gilligan also won the best entertainment series award for his Channel 4 show The Lateish Show With Mo Gilligan.

In the acting category, Jodie Comer won the Best Actor in a Television Series award for his performance in Jack Thorne’s TV series Help, about the Covid-19 pandemic.


Jodie Comer won Best Television Actor in a Drama Awards for her performance in Jack Thorne’s (Matt Crossick/PA) TV series Help.

Thorne made a fervent plea for better supported care homes in the UK as he accepted the award on Comer’s behalf.

Video of the day

Daisy Haggard won Best Television Actor in a Comedy for her portrayal of inmate Miri Matteson in Back To Life, while Breakthrough Actor went to Danielle Macdonald for her role in BBC One. hit The Tourist.

The title of TV Moment of the Year, as voted for by the public, went to the LGBTQ + teen series Heartstopper for the first kiss scene between Charlie Spring, played by Joe Locke, and Nick Nelson, played by Kit Connor.

Meanwhile, Netflix’s Sex Education took home best comedy while BBC One’s The Responder took home best drama.


Actress Diane Morgan won this year’s magazine’s outstanding achievement award (Yui Mok/PA)

Sky’s The Return: Life After ISIS won best documentary, the favorite reality TV series went to BBC’s Uprising, and the best international drama was chosen as Apple TV+’s Pachinko.

Actress Diane Morgan, who is known for playing Philomena Cunk in Charlie Brooker Weekly Wipe and Kath in Netflix’s dark comedy series After Life, won this year’s magazine’s outstanding achievement award.

The Edinburgh Drama Festival’s Creative Director, Stewart Clarke, said: “This has been an absolutely phenomenal year for drama production once again, with our best productions being showcased in the film industry. deservedly nominated and honored.

“Congratulations to all the well-deserved TV Award winners who have faced tough competition across the board, and a big thank you to the TV Awards Jury of the we are headed by Sue Vertue.”

The event, held in Edinburgh, was hosted by comedian and writer Sophie Duker. Channel 4 is the winning channel of the year in Edinburgh as privatization threat looms

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button