Technology

Check your Netflix NOW – “red flags” indicate if you’ve been hacked

IF YOU’VE EVER shared your Netflix login credentials with family and friends, you should check your account for unwanted scammers.

Word of mouth allows a mountain of people to use your login credentials without your knowledge or consent.

You can eradicate Netflix Freeloader with a few simple clicks

1

You can eradicate Netflix Freeloader with a few simple clicksPhoto credit: Reuters

Over time, dozens of people, including ex-partners, roommates, and friends of friends, can gain access to your account.

So that your generosity doesn’t become too obvious, it’s worth doing a little spring cleaning every now and then.

Changes to Your Profiles

When you open the Netflix app or website, you’ll see a list of profiles associated with your account.

You can have up to 5 profiles on a single Netflix account. They allow you to customize and personalize your experience.

If you notice new profiles popping up unexpectedly, it could be a sign that someone has access to your account who shouldn’t

Ask those who you know have access to your credentials if they added the new profile(s).

If the answer is no, it’s time to secure your account by changing your password (more on that below).

To delete a profile, you must log into Netflix in a web browser.

Click on your profile icon and click Manage Profiles. Select the unwanted profile and click on it Extinguish.

Unusual content in your watch history

Most Netflix freeloaders are smart enough to know that they are not allowed to create a new profile for the account.

Instead, they simply use the profiles already created to get their streaming fix for free.

One way to spot a moocher is by the “Continue Watching” and “Recommendations” carousel on your profile.

If there’s a new TV show or genre that pops up there, you might have a Netflix squatter on your hands.

If a new “because you’ve seen it” suggestion pops up for a movie or series you’ve never seen, be on high alert, too.

Again, first check your circle of passwords to make sure someone hasn’t accidentally viewed content on your profile.

Changes to your viewing activity

Arguably the best way to check if you’ve been compromised is to take a look at your account’s view history.

This shows the date and time, location, and even the device someone was streaming from.

If you discover any that you don’t recognize, it is recommended that you secure your account.

Again, it’s worth asking your circle about any suspicious activity before logging everyone out.

It’s possible that a family member just went on vacation recently or signed in on a new device.

To check your recent devices, you need to access Netflix in a browser.

Once you’ve logged in, go to your account settings by hovering over the profile icon in the top right.

Scroll down to the “Settings” section and click on the “Recent device streaming activity” link.

How to secure your account

If you suspect you’re a victim of a Netflix free rider, log out of all devices and change your password.

Sign in to Netflix in a browser, then go to your settings and click “Sign out of all devices” to block them.

You will need to enter your username and password the next time you want to use your account on any device.

Click “Change Password” in your settings to ensure moochers can’t just log back into your account.

  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
  • Stay up to date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8975904/check-netflix-now-red-flags-reveal-hacked/ Check your Netflix NOW – “red flags” indicate if you’ve been hacked

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button