Daithí Burke confirmed as Captain of Tribes after Henry Shefflin names panel for Liam MacCarthy Tilt

HENRY SHEFFLIN has announced a 34-strong panel for Galway’s forthcoming senior hurling championship campaign as he seeks to spur a tribal revival in his first season as inter-county manager.

Notable absentees include Adrian Tuohey, who started when Galway last lifted Liam MacCarthy in 2017; Niall Burke, who came on as a substitute against Waterford in this year’s final; and Seán Loftus, who was there on Matchday 26 that day.

Two other starters of that All-Ireland triumph, legendary Joe Canning and Aidan Harte, are also unavailable to Shefflin as they retired after Galway’s disappointing 2021 campaign.

The Kilkenny legend includes nine members of the team that started the 2017 final: his new skipper Daithí Burke and vice-captain Joseph Cooney, as well as Gearóid McInerney, Padraic Mannion, Johnny Coen, David Burke, Conor Whelan, Conor Cooney and Cathal Mannion.

In Shefflin’s first league game, Galway finished third in Division 1 Group A and missed the semi-finals. They open their Leinster SHC round robin campaign in Wexford on Saturday 16 April.

GALWAY SHC PANEL: Daithí Burke (Captain), Joseph Cooney (Vice-Captain), Eanna Murphy, Darach Fahy, Darren Morrissey, Jack Grealish, Fintan Burke, Jack Fitzpatrick, Declan Cronin, Stephen Barrett, Padraic Mannion, Gearóid McInerney, Tiernan Killeen, Shane Ryan, TJ Brennan , David Burke, Ronan Murphy, Johnny Coen, Cathal Mannion, Conor Cooney, Ronan Glennon, Tom Monaghan, Jack Hastings, Brian Concannon, Conor Whelan, John Fleming, Evan Niland, Donal O’Shea, Kevin Cooney, Gavin Lee, Cianan Fahy , Greg Thomas, Eanna Burke, Jason Flynn.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/daithi-burke-confirmed-as-captain-of-the-tribes-after-henry-shefflin-names-panel-for-liam-maccarthy-tilt-41496710.html Daithí Burke confirmed as Captain of Tribes after Henry Shefflin names panel for Liam MacCarthy Tilt

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button