Deegan relied on swan song between the counties as referee

Maurice Deegan is gearing up for his final championship as an inter-county umpire as he turns 50 this year.

eegan has been named to a 16-person soccer championship refereeing panel that will oversee 60 games.

The Laois man has been one of the game’s most experienced and prominent umpires over the past 15 years, and has refereed three All-Ireland finals – 2008 between Tyrone and Kerry, 2012 between Donegal and Mayo and the 2016 replay between Dublin and Mayo.

Noel Mooney and Niall Cullen were reinstated on the panel for 2021, but Ciaran Branagan retired from inter-county refereeing when he turned 50 last year while also serving as an All-Ireland Final official on the side.

Wicklow’s Anthony Nolan is also out due to injury.

In hurling, an 18-strong panel will officiate Liam MacCarthy and Joe McDonagh Cup games, although an expanded panel has been announced to cover all five ranks.

Fifty games will be played between the MacCarthy and McDonagh Cups, but as the intensity of play during the provincial championships will be so high at eight some weekends, 16 umpires will be needed. Dublin’s Thomas Gleeson and Chris Mooney are expected to be appointed.

Referee of the Championship 2022 – Football Panel: J Henry (Mayo), P Neilan (Roscommon), F Kelly (Longford), D Coldrick (Meath), D Gough (Meath), B Cawley (Kildare), M Deegan (Laois), C Lane (Cork), DO’ Mahoney (Tipperary), J McQuillan (Cavan), N Mooney (Cavan), P Faloon (Down), B Cassidy (Derry), N Cullen (Fermanagh), M McNally (Monaghan), S Hurson (Tyrons).

slingshot: L Gordon (Galway), S Hynes (Galway), B Keon (Galway), J Judge (Mayo), C Flynn (Westmeath), K Brady (Louth), S Stack (Dublin), T Gleeson (Dublin), C Mooney (Dublin), P O’Dwyer (Carlow), P Murphy (Carlow), S Cleere (Kilkenny), J Keenan (Wicklow), J Owens (Wexford), R Fitzsimons (Offaly), R McGann (Clare), C Lyons (Cork), N Wall (Cork), J Murphy (Limerick), T Walsh (Waterford), F Horgan (Tipperary), K Jordan (Tipperary), M Kennedy (Tipperary), J Clarke (Cavan), C Cunning (Antrim), C McDonald (Antrim), K Parke (Antrim), T Conway (Derry), A McAleer ( Donegal), J. Connors (Donegal). Deegan relied on swan song between the counties as referee

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button