Elder Scrolls games in order: By release date and schedule

ELDER SCROLLS is a series of RPG action games primarily developed by Maryland-based studio Bethesda.

But when was each game released and is there a linear narrative timeline that runs through them?

Release order of the Elder Scrolls games

Since its debut in 1994, there have been five main games in the series, in addition to a number of spin-offs.

Each game is set on the fictional continent of Tamriel and features real-world elements like the Roman Empire combined with fantasy themes.

So, without further ado, here are all five main games so far, in release order.

The Elder Scrolls: Arena – 1994


In the first game of the series, players tried to uncover a conspiracy against King Uriel Septim VII.

The Elder Scrolls series has spawned what many consider to be some of the greatest games of all time


The Elder Scrolls series has spawned what many consider to be some of the greatest games of all timeCredit: Handout

The game has elements like a day and night cycle and a spell creation system that are particularly impressive considering the age of the game.

It was critically acclaimed and won a number of awards, including Computer Gaming World’s Gong of Roleplaying Game of the Year.

The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall – 1996


The follow-up had players on a hunt for the spirit of King Lysandrus in order to free him on the Emperor’s orders.

Players could only travel between two provinces: High Rock and Hammerfell, but the game features 15,000 areas to explore.

It also offered players more options in terms of customization. It also received critical praise.

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind – 2002

PC and Xbox

The main story of the third game took place on Vvardenfell, an island within the continent of Tamriel.

The main quest focuses on Dagoth Ur and his attempt to free Morrowind from Imperial control.

Two expansion packs followed: Tribunal and Bloodmoon.

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion – 2006

PC and Xbox 360, Playstation 3

As with previous games, Oblivion gave players free rein to explore the map and take on missions at their leisure.

The game was more story-focused than previous games and benefited from an improved physics engine as well as an AI system that allowed non-playable characters to make choices and exhibit more complex behaviors.

The game was praised for the quality of its game world and graphics and, like its predecessor, is considered one of the best video games of all time.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – 2011

PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S

The latest major title takes place two centuries after the end of Oblivion.

Set in Skyrim, a northern province of Tamriel, the story sees us take on a dragon named Alduin the World-Eater who is prophesied to destroy the world.

The game was originally released for PC, PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360, but was later ported and remastered for next-gen consoles.

Order of the Elder Scrolls timeline

Not all games have a continuous narrative that follows chronologically from game to game.

Tomb Raider, for example, goes backwards and forwards through time and is divided into reboots and trilogies.

We gave our son a strong, masculine name, but the family laughed in our faces
My neighbor felled a lot of my tree - I'm absolutely furious

Elder Scrolls, on the other hand, has a pretty clear historical timeline like Call of Duty and Hitman.

Here are the main games in their chronological order:

  • The Elder Scrolls Arena – 1994
  • The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall – 1996
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind – 2002
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion – 2006
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – 2011

https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9148439/elder-scrolls-games-order-release-date-timeline/ Elder Scrolls games in order: By release date and schedule

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button