Eoghan Smith leaves late for Sligo as Roscommon is dethroned in Connacht U20 Championship


Eoghan Smith took the victory point on death as Sligo knocked out defending champions Roscommon from the Connacht U20 Championship at Markievicz Park.

The Yeats men set up a final clash with Mayo next Wednesday after coming from five points down in the first half to win it in the second minute of added time.

The impressive Smith maintained his composure to fire across the victory point from the far left, having earlier leveled his side by a point from a marker as the clock neared 60 minutes.

His seven-point tally helped Dessie Sloyan’s team earn their first provincial playoff spot since 2017.

They needed a converted penalty from Lee Duignan to level at 7-1 at the break as some erratic shots from the visitors proved costly.

Liam Tully’s side started well and Jack Tumulty scored a couple of nice points early before Adam McDermott struck mid-half after Oisín Cregg’s initial try was brilliantly parried by Sligo keeper Cian Kilcoyne.

But Smith equalized Sligo with a point from Duignan’s penalty and he repeated the trick late in the second half to secure a memorable win.


Lock: E Smith 0-7 (5f), L Duignan 1-2, D Walsh, J Keaney, L Marren 0-1 each.

Roscommon: A McDermott 1-2, O Cregg 0-2 (2f), J Tumulty 0-3, E Colleran, 0-2, B O’Carroll, D Cregg 0-1 each.


SLIGO- C Kilcoyne; S Molloy, C Johnston, L Casserly; O’Reilly C, Lavin J, Mulligan C; J Keaney, J Donlon; M Henry, E Smith, D Walsh; L Marren, L Duignan, J Davitt. Substitutes: O Flynn for Henry (30), M McGowan for O’Reilly (42), D McLaughlin for Casserly (45), G Duffy for Donlon (51).

ROSCOMMON – D Quinn; Lohan C, Trundle S, Crean T; Gavin P, Keogh C, O’Hara-Duggan B; O Cregg, D Cregg; J Tumulty, C Feely, C Hand; B. O’Carroll, A. McDermott, E. Colleran. Substitutes: E Ward for Trundle (6), D Heneghan for Feely (43), C Regan for Crean (54), C Kelly for O’Hara-Duggan (57).

REF- T Murphy (Galway). Eoghan Smith leaves late for Sligo as Roscommon is dethroned in Connacht U20 Championship

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button