Facebook warning to users after message costs users more than £400,000

Facebook Users have been warned about a scam Facebook Messenger which has cost one unlucky user more than £400,000.

Experts have warned that the ‘deepfake’ scam could catch anyone as users are urged to remain vigilant.

The scam is causing people to lose money believing they are speaking to celebrities, with one user losing $500,000 after thinking they spoke to Marvel star Mark Ruffalo, who starred in The Incredible Hulk franchise plays.

Japanese artist Chikae Ide shared the warning with the Japanese newspaper The Asahi Shim Bun. She warned that the technology used convinced her to talk to the real person over the webcam.

Ide said: “I’m sure it was Mark himself sitting behind the screen chatting to me.

“He respected my work and he said that I, this old lady, was beautiful. He also said that the age difference was not a problem for him and that he wanted to make me happy.”

The scammer, who poses as a Hollywood star, told Ide: “I will never make you sad,” while the couple talked non-stop.

Ide sold personal items and delayed paying her employees to keep Mark Ruffalo funded.

She even tapped into her son’s savings to further fund the scammer.

“It was such a stupid experience,” she said, “but I hope people take it as a lesson. I apologize to my friends and acquaintances who loaned me money while I refused to listen to them.

“I swear I’ll keep drawing manga until I die to pay them back.”

https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/23031979.facebook-warning-users-message-costs-user-400-000/?ref=rss Facebook warning to users after message costs users more than £400,000

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button