Far Cry games in order: By release date and schedule

FAR CRY puts the player in the wilderness where he must fight against despots and survive the wild animals crawling between the trees.

Here we share with you the release order of the games in the series, their chronological order and any spin-off games that have been created.

Release order of Far Cry games

In this section we’ll give you a brief overview of each Far Cry game in the series.

Distant scream

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Xbox X/S Series

The game was first released on March 23, 2004 and was developed by the German studio Crytek GmbH.

The player is Jack Carver, a former Special Forces trying to survive on a tropical island turned into hell.

He ended up on the island when he took his journalist friend Van to the island of Micronesia to discover the ruins of World War II.

Far Cry shows the post-apocalyptic world while the other Far Cry games show the process of it


Far Cry shows the post-apocalyptic world while the other Far Cry games show the process of itCredit: Handout

Far Cry 2

Platforms: PC, Playstation 3, Xbox 360

Ubisoft had promoted this game as a sequel to the first part, but the game released on October 21, 2008 is significantly different.

In this game, the first-person shooter is an unnamed fictional East African country facing a civil war.

Find out FIFA release date and new footage
Fallout games in order: By release date and schedule

The soldier has to fight in places like desert, savannah and jungle and for that he has multiple weapons like pistols, assault rifles and rocket launchers.

This game begins with the setting for the first Far Cry.

Set in 2008, it first tells the story of how the world finally faced an apocalypse.

As of this game, all games are discontinued in the year they were released.

Far cry 3

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360

Since this game was released on November 29, 2012, the game is also set in that year.

In this game, James Brody leads a revolution against Vaas, his pirates and the slave trader Hoyt Volker on the fictional Rook Islands.

Players have to complete missions and objectives and they can do it using the different weapons available like land mines and sniper rifles.

James landed on the island while on vacation with his friends to celebrate his younger brother Riley getting his pilot’s license.

They land on the island by skydiving and the pirates plan to sell them into slavery.

Far Cry 4

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Xbox 360

Released on November 18th, 2014, this game is set in the fictional country of Kyrat, whose government was overthrown and is still suffering.

The player is Ajay Ghale who is trying to spread his mother’s ashes across Kyrat after being missing from the country for 20 years.

Ajay is now trying to get out of the miserable situation in which his country finds itself together with the people involved in the rebel movement that his father Mohan Ghale once started.

Far Cry 5

Platforms: PC, Playstation 4, Xbox One

Considered one of the best in the series, Far Cry 5 was released on March 27, 2018.

Set in the fictional Hope County, Montana, it introduces dangerous and slightly wacky religious cults.

The violent religious cult introduced is Eden’s Gate, led by Joseph Seed, and he says that God showed him a vision of the earth being burned up because of mankind’s corruption.

This cult is preparing for the apocalypse while major terrorist attacks are taking place around the world and relations between the United States, North Korea and the Middle East are deteriorating.

The first nuclear attack takes place in September 2018 and this is the beginning of The Collapse.

Far cry 6

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S

This game was released on October 7th, 2021 and is set in the fictional Caribbean state of Yara.

Yara is under a dictatorship of “El Presidente” Anton Castillo and player Dani Rojas will rebel against this government.

Dani must try to fight Castillo and overthrow his leadership or he can flee the island and Yara will fall under the cruel dictatorship again while Dani lies on Miami Beach.

Far Cry timeline order

After the first installment, each Far Cry was discontinued in the year it was released.

So the chronological order of the games would be:

  • Far Cry 2 – 2008
  • Far Cry 3 – 2012
  • Far Cry 4 – 2014
  • Far Cry 5 – 2018
  • Far Cry 6 – 2021
  • Far Cry-2025

What are the Far Cry spinoff games?

Far Cry had many spin-off games made that were made available on consoles and in virtual reality.

These are:

  • Far Cry Instincts (2005)
  • Far Cry Instincts: Evolution (2006)
  • Far Cry Instincts: Predator (2006)
  • Far Cry Revenge (2006)
  • Paradise Lost (2007)
  • Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon (2013)
  • Far Cry Primal (2016)
  • Far Cry New Dawn (2019)
  • Far Cry VR: Plunge Into Madness (2021)

https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9132000/far-cry-games-order-release-date-timeline/ Far Cry games in order: By release date and schedule

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button