Five awards for writers from Mediahuis Ireland at the Travel Extra Awards

Mediahuis Ireland writers picked up five awards at the Travel Extra Travel Journalist of the Year Awards on Friday night.

ector Ó hEochagáin was awarded the overall Travel Extra Journalist of the Year award at an awards dinner in the Thomas Prior Hall of the Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge.

Mediahuis travel writers received awards in categories such as Best Northern Ireland, Best Long Haul, Best Adventure, Best Skiing and Best Digital Media.

the Irish Independent, Sunday independent, sunday world and were among the winners for 2022.

Deirdre Reynolds for the sunday world, Isabel Conway for the Sunday independentJulie Taylor for the Irish IndependentCatherine Murphy for the Sunday independent and Irish Independentand Tom Sweeney for have all received awards for travelogues.

Winners were crowned in various holiday categories, chosen by a respected panel of senior Irish journalists who said the entries showed “the creativity and innovation of travel and tourism journalism in Ireland”.

The event was sponsored by the Spanish Tourist Board and the Lanzarote Tourist Board.


Winner at the Travel Extra Awards. Photo: Arthur Carron

The category winners were as follows:

Best Adventure – Sponsored by

Winner: Julie Taylor for Ascension Was Like an Out-of-Body Experience, published in the Irish Independent Weekend Magazine.

Best Home Market (Ireland) – Sponsored by Fáilte Ireland

Winners: Yvonne Gordon for two plays with Mayo, “Ireland’s Loneliest Wilderness, Wild Nephin National Park” for BBC Travel and “What Ancient Mysteries Lie Beneath the Little-Known Irish Moor?”. for National Geographic Travel.

Best Northern Ireland – Sponsored by Tourism Northern Ireland

Winner: Deirdre Reynolds for the Sunday World Magazine – “River of Dreams” and a second entry “Cliffs side capers”.

Best Long Haul – Sponsored by Cassidy Travel

Winner: Isabel Conway for her two entries – “Southern Hospitality in the Birthplace of the Blues” for the business mail; and ‘Sands of Time that Surprise Eternally’ for the Sunday independent.


Martin Skelly from and Julie Taylor, who won for Best Adventure

Best short haul (including sun holidays and city breaks) – sponsored by Sunway & Hotel Fariones

Winner: Jamie Ball for “Cycling in Denmark is the most bike-friendly country in Europe?” published in Irish times; and “Perfect for pedalling”, published in the Sunday Times Ireland Edition.

Best Skiing – Sponsored by Topflight & Gastein Tourismusverband Austria

Winner: Catherine Murphy for skiing features she wrote for the Irish Daily Mail, Sunday Independent, and Business Post Magazine Irish Independent Weekend Magazine.

Best Broadcasting – Sponsored by TUI

Winner: Hector Ó hEochagáin for Hector: Balkans go Baltics, which was broadcast on TG4.

Best Digital Media – sponsored by Click&Go

Winner: Tom Sweeney, Editor-in-Chief of Mediahuis Ireland, for his travel blogs ‘Discover the Delights of Northern Spain’ and ‘Top Foods to Try When Visiting Spain’. Both published in the blog

The Gerry O’Hare Memorial Award for Best Newcomer Journalist – sponsored by the Malta Tourism Authority

Winner: Sarah Pickering for her contributions published in NI Travel News.

Travel Extra Journalist of the Year – Sponsored by Spanish Tourist Board and Lanzarote Tourism

Winner: Hector Ó hEochagáin, who was unanimously chosen by the jury for his dedication, ability to engage his audience and knowledge of the area he was covering. Five awards for writers from Mediahuis Ireland at the Travel Extra Awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button