THERE are some warning signs iPhone owners should watch out for – you may have been blocked.
Since the dawn of the digital age, people have had one more thing to worry about: being blocked or ghosted online by friends, co-workers, or significant others.
Nobody likes being blocked and ignored, it can make you doubt yourself, lower self esteem and lead to anxiety and other psychological problems in the long run.
For those who click the block button and get rid of someone from their online life, it’s not always an act of malice. Mostly it is about self-preservation.
If that person has hurt you, offended you, or is sending you messages that affect you negatively, sometimes it’s easier and less stressful to remove them from your online life entirely.
However, being on the receiving end is never easy. Especially if you’re not sure what you did wrong. Confronting the matter can be helpful, and asking what you did wrong to seek closure can help.
But how can you be sure that someone has blocked you in the first place? There’s no way to know other than the blocker telling you directly.
However, if you’re an iPhone user, there are a number of “red flags” that can tell if you’ve been blocked or not.
While not definitive, they give you an idea of whether you have been blacklisted by your contact.
Reg Flag 1: The phone rings once and then goes to voicemail
If someone has blocked you on iPhone, your calls will go straight to voicemail. The other person won’t be notified that you called, nor will they see a badge notification if you left a voicemail.
Of course, note that your call going straight to voicemail doesn’t automatically mean you’ve been blocked. It could be that your contact just turned off their phone and can’t receive calls.
Try calling at different times of the day, as being constantly going to voicemail for a long period of time could be a clearer sign that you’ve been blocked.
Regflag 2: iMessage is sent as an SMS message
In most cases, when an iMessage can’t be delivered, it’s sent as an SMS instead, which appears as a green bubble in iMessage chats.
So if you’ve been chatting through iMessage recently and your messages suddenly turn into green SMS texts, it could be that you’ve been blocked.
On the other hand, your contact may have turned off their phone, don’t have internet access, or – if it’s been a while since your last message – changed their number.
Alternatively, they might even have migrated to an Android device, as SMS is what all non-iPhone messaging systems use to pass texts between contacts.
Reg flag 3: SMS not delivered
Unlike Apple’s iMessage, there’s no way to know if an SMS message has been read by the recipient, but there’s still a way to check its status. So when a text has been sent as a green bubble, it usually shows as either “sent” or “delivered”.
The “Sent” badge simply means that the message has been sent to the recipient but has not yet been delivered to their device.
If the message badge never changes to a delivered status, it could be a sign that you’ve been blocked, especially if it’s been a long time.
Again, it could simply mean they’re just out of their coverage area and couldn’t receive messages when you sent them.
Reg flag 4: You have been blocked in other messaging apps
If you’re sure you’ve been blocked on iPhone, chances are that person has blocked you on other messaging platforms as well, so it’s worth checking there as well.
For example, if you have their contact details for WhatsApp, make sure their “last seen” is still visible in the chat window. If it’s gone, it could be a sign that you’ve been blocked.
Also, any messages you send to a contact who has blocked you on WhatsApp will only ever show a tick as opposed to the double tick indicating they were delivered.
For other signs that you may have been blocked on the platform, see our How to check if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp section.
Reg flag 5: Calls or messages from other numbers go through
If you’re determined to contact the person you think blocked you and you really want to find out what you did to deserve being ghosted, a quick and easy method is the Put you out of your misery by calling them from another number.
If your calls go straight to voicemail but your attempts from the new number get through, it’s almost a dead certificate that you’ve been blocked.
Although if they respond and you continue to confront them about it, it may not put you in the best light.
It could be intimidating and even seen as harassment for the recipient if you are trying to contact them from all directions and they have made it clear that they need space.
It’s never a good feeling to know someone blocked you, especially when the reasons aren’t clear; it can be annoying and even feel humiliating. However, try to resist the urge to contact the person who blocked you.
If you don’t give them the space they need and keep harassing them, it could escalate and you’ll likely only make things worse.
If you’re feeling hurt or upset about the situation, try talking to someone about it, or try keeping a journal to give you some perspective, rather than focusing all your energies on who you think you are. that he blocked you.
- Read the latest phone and gadget news
- Stay up to date on Apple stories
- Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram
The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…
Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at email@example.com
https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8993071/iphone-red-flags-blocked/ Five iPhone “red flags” that indicate if someone has BLOCKED you