GAA Team News: Monaghan and Roscommon name strong sides for Championship opener

FRESH from winning the Allianz Division 2 title at the expense of his native Galway, Anthony Cunningham has made just one team change as Roscommon opens the Connacht SFC season at Sligo on Saturday.

Onor Hussey comes to the half-line at the expense of Niall Kilroy, while Diarmuid Murtagh has yet to settle for a place among the substitutes after his game-winning exploits against Galway at Croke Park.

Murtagh’s 1-1 performance in that league final included a spectacular solo goal in added time at a time when the sides were even.

Meanwhile, Monaghan manager Séamus McEnaney has handed forward duo Andrew Woods and Gary Mohan their championship debuts for Saturday’s Ulster SFC quarter-finals against Down in Clones.

Inniskeen Clubman Woods and Truaghs Mohan are named as wingers and full forwards in a starting team that is otherwise full of experience.

Talisman Conor McManus – who came on late from the bench as Monaghan retained his top-flight status at Dublin expense last month – will be named in his usual No 15 position.

Tipperary footballers have made three changes from the team who passed Cavan in the Division 4 final for their Munster SHC quarter-finals v Waterford. Willie Eviston, Robbie Kiely and Martin Kehoe are all included at the expense of Jack Harney, Tommy Maher and Mark Russell.

In hurling, Mattie Kenny has kept changes to a minimum as the Dublin hurlers look to maintain their 100-piece start in the Leinster SHC round-robin group when they travel to Westmeath on Sunday.

Shane Barrett, who returned to the panel this season after leaving in 2021, was named left-half-back at James Madden’s expense. The Na Fianna clubman made a brief cameo off the bench in Dublin’s tense opening round win over Laois but did not feature at Wexford last weekend.

On the front line of women’s football, Dublin manager Mick Bohan has named eight of the sides who played Westmeath in last year’s All-Ireland SFC final defeat by Meath for Saturday’s opener of the Leinster Championship.

The eight are goalkeeper Ciara Trant, Leah Caffrey, Sinead Goldrick, Orlagh Nolan, Jennifer Dunne, Lauren Magee, Carla Rowe and Hannah Tyrrell.

ROSCOMMON (SFC v Sligo) – C Lavin; Murray D, Stack B, McCormack E; Hussey C, Daly N, Daly R; U Harney, E Nolan; Murtagh C, Smith E, Heneghan C; C McKeon, D Smith, C Cox. Subtitle: Carroll C, Daly C, Ruane D, Kilroy N, Cunnane S, Murtagh D, Sugrue C, Doyle K, Glennon A, Darcy H, Lyons A.

MONAGHAN (SFC vs. Down) – R began; K Duffy, C Boyle, R Wylie; R McAnespie, D Ward, C McCarthy; D Hughes, N Kearns; A Woods, K Hughes, M Bannigan; J McCarron, G Mohan, C McManus.

CLARE (SFC v Limerick) – S Ryan; Doherty M, Brennan C, Rouine C; J Malone, CO’Dea, E Collins; D O’Neill, C Russell; E McMahon, E Cleary, P Lillis; G Cooney, D Tubridy, A Griffin. Subtitle: O’Brien T, Collins P, Collins S, Downes C, Jordan C, McDonagh D, McNamara B, Morrissey C, Rouine B, Walsh D, McGann J.

TIPPERARY (SHC vs Waterford): M O’Reilly; S O’Connell, J Feehan, W Eviston; K Fahey, C O’Shaughnessy, R Kiely; Conal Kennedy, J Kennedy; B Maher, M O’Shea, M Kehoe; T Doyle, C Sweeney, S O’Connor.

WATERFORD (SFC vs. Tipperary) – P-hunt; M Kiely, D Ó Cathasaigh, B Looby; D Ryan, D Hallihan, J O’Sullivan; M Curry, J Curry; B Lynch, S Curry, C Murray; J Walsh, T O’Connell, D Corcoran. Subtitle: Beresford A, Reddy R, Corráin C, Flavin J, Boyce S, Duffy G, Jones A, Keane J, Burke C, Walsh C, Guiry T.

DUBLIN (U-20 HC vs Wexford) – E.O’Connor; A Keegan, P Doyle, L Ó Lochlainn; J Flanagan, D Crowe, C Walsh; C Ó Cathasaigh, S Gallagher; J. O’Brien, B. McSweeney, D. Ó Dúlaing; Purcell D, Scanlon B, Keher C.

DUBLIN (Women SFC – Westmeath) – C Trant; J Tobin, L Caffrey, T Quinn; S Goldrick, A Kane, O Nolan; J Dunne, L Magee; C O’Connor, C Rowe, N Owens; G O’Driscoll, H Tyrrell, S Wylde. GAA Team News: Monaghan and Roscommon name strong sides for Championship opener

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button