Galway defeats Mayo to capture All-Ireland Minor Football title from Electric Ireland

For the first time since 2007, Galway were crowned Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Champions when they turned the tables on Mayo and reversed the outcome of their two championship meetings in Connacht earlier this summer.

Defensive superiority has been the hallmark of Mayo’s provincial victories as they limited Galway to 7-0 and 4-0 in those two games, but last night it was Galway who excelled in their own half of the field.

Alan Glynn’s side delivered their best performance of the year, with Tomás Farthing dominating in the corner in front of 12,789 spectators in Hyde Park, while Cillian Trayers at central defender and Kyle Gilmore in goal also contributed to the win.

Despite failing to find the net, despite creating a multitude of chances, albeit none as clear as the chances saved by Mayo forwards Ronan Clarke and Niall Hurley, Galway looked far more dangerous than a Mayo Team that scored only one point from the game second half.

Colm Costello and Éanna Monaghan combined for nine points as the pair produced some quality strikes to keep the sides apart throughout the competition.

Despite being a point down midway through the first half after two fine tries from James Maheady, Galway beat their arch-rivals 0-7 to 0-1 between the 20th and 40th minute, and despite Mayo’s shared captain Ronan Clarke serving the deficit three points short Galway finished in style with two lovely goals that brought the crowd into play.

The Tribesmen showed commendable heart to shoot four points on the spin through Cillian Trayers, Costello (free), Charlie Cox and Stephen Curley to get the celebrations going.

A late Ronan Clarke Free did not spoil gallant Galway’s evening as they kicked off what will hopefully be a very successful weekend at Big Ball Code.

Although the teams only scored one goal in the first 10 minutes of the first half, there was enough action to keep the rowdy crowd at Dr. entertaining Hyde Park, including three chances to score, one of which saved Hurley’s attempt at Gilmore.

Éanna Monaghan started with a free-kick when Mayo found the net just in the 10th minute, but winger James Maheady got his team both feet in the game with three incredible goals to defeat them 5-0, 4-0 before.

Galway’s response was emphatic as they controlled possession while showing patience to carve out the ideal shot opportunity. Colm Costello shot two points while Fionn O’Connor and Stephen Curley also found the target as Mayo went 11 minutes without a goal.

Colm McHale ended Mayo’s goalless run when Monaghan fired a left-footed shot at goal and, although the shot punched David Dolan, it also went just wide of the post.

Galway scored the first three goals of the second half when Costello fired over two early tries. Shea McGlinchey also found the target and Mayo did manage to pull the game back to a point score

game, Alan Glynn’s side showed heart, determination and no small amount of game intelligence to end the win.

Goalscorers: Galway – C Costello 0-5 (2f), É Monaghan 0-4 (0-3f), S Curley 0-2, C Trayers 0-1, S McGlinchey 0-1, F O’Connor 0-1 , C. Cox 0-1. Mayo – R Clarke 0-4 (2f), J Mahedy 0-3, C Keaveney 0-1f, C McHale 0-1.

Galway: K Gilmore; V Gil, R Flaherty, T Farthing; M Mannion, C Trayers, R Coen; J Lonergan, S McGlinchey; O Morgan, É Monaghan, S Dunne; S Curley, F O’Connor, C Costello. Subtitle: C Cox for O’Connor (44), O Kelly for Dunne (52), P McNeela for Mannion (56), L Carr for Curley (59), C Dolan for Costello (60+1).

Mayo: D Dolan; C McHale, J McMonagle, L Silke; L Maloney, R Mortimer, P Gilmore; J Keane, L Feeney; J Mahedy, D Hurley, DDuffy; C Keaveney, R Clarke, N Hurley. Subtitle: O Armstrong for D Hurley (40), Z Collins for Keaveney (53), OCronin for Maheady (57), D Gallagher for Keane (59), S O’Dowd for Feeney (60+4).

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh). Galway defeats Mayo to capture All-Ireland Minor Football title from Electric Ireland

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button