Galway rages against Leitrim to secure a place in the Connacht finals

Galway raged at Salthill in the second half to secure their place in the Connacht final later this month.

Galway were in full control here in the first 20 minutes as Andy Moran’s Leitrim traded punches with the Tribesmen. They ran 4-8 in the second half to Leitrim’s four points. And when former Athlone Town player Patrick Kelly rammed the first of his two goals just after the break, the game was as good as over.

For Leitrim, there were echoes of Mayo’s 24-point hammers last year. The lead was down by one this time as their early efforts took their toll and drove Galway home.

The visitors were early in the game and led after nine minutes as Ciaran Cullen leveled them 2-0 to 1-0. And for the first 20 minutes or so, the sides traded points. Leitrim’s first goal came from a long direct delivery and it’s a tactic they used in the first half with mixed results. But in the 21st minute and playing upwind, Leitrim was just a point down after Conor Dolan oversteered a point.

However, Galway took control from there. Paul Conroy and Cillian McDaid both had excellent scoring in the first half and their ability to float points with the breeze meant they landed five points between them in the opening 35 minutes. And although he did little wrong, Leitrim conceded seven of the last eight points of the half as Galway’s superiority began to emerge as Padraic Joyce’s side went 12-0-5 at the break.

In the restart, Kelly scored his first goal and from there it was just a question of how far Galway would go. A good day in the office for Joyce, where he came off the bench 4-2 and had 12 different goalscorers but tighter tests lie ahead, beginning with Roscommon on May 29.

Goalscorers – Galway: P Kelly 2-1, S Walsh 0-6 (5f), C McDaid, R Finnerty (1m) 0-3 each, N Daly, O Gallagher 1-0 each, P Conroy 0-2, D Conneely, M Tierney, J Daly, J Heaney, FO Laoi 0-1 each.

Leitrim: R O’Rourke (1f), K Beirne 0-2 each, C Cullen, T Prior, R O’Rourke (1m), D Wrynn, C Dolan 0-1 each.

Galway: C Gleeson; L Silke, S Kelly, J Glynn; D McHugh, J Daly, K Molloy; P Conroy, M Tierney; FO Laoi, D Comer, C McDaid; J Heaney, R Finnerty, S Walsh

SUBS: J McGrath for Silke (BS 8-11), Patrick Kelly for O Laoi (BS 28-ht), Patrick Kelly for McHugh (HT), O Gallagher for Heaney (49), N Daly for Tierney (50), T Culhane for Comer (58), D Connely for Conroy (60).

Leitrim: B. Flynn; Reynolds C, Maguire P, Diffley M; S Quinn, D Casey, D Brien; D Wrynn, P Dolan; Dolan C, Plunkett M, Cullen C, Ryan O’Rourke, Moran S, Riordan O’Rourke

SUBS: T Prior for Cullen (33), K Beirne for S Moran (HT), D McGovern for Dolan (43), C McGloin for Quinn (47), E Sweeney for Plunkett (58).

referee😛 Faoon (below) Galway rages against Leitrim to secure a place in the Connacht finals

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button