God of War games in order: By release date and schedule

THE God of War franchise has become an institution in the gaming world since the release of the first title in 2005.

A number of successful sequels followed, but what are they and what does the games’ timeline look like?

Release order of God of War games

God of War (2005)

The first entry in the God of War series introduced the hack-and-slash style of gameplay and strategy elements.

It also introduces the franchise’s tormented and complex protagonist, Kratos.

God of War II (2007)

The second part continues the narrative of the first, but included significant improvements in gameplay quality.

God of War: Chains of Olympus (2008)

Chains of Olympus is a prequel to GoW I, first released on PSP and later on PS3 as part of the GoW: Origins Collection.

The latest installment of the award-winning epic was released in 2018


The latest installment of the award-winning epic was released in 2018Photo credit: Sony Interactive Entertainment

God of War III (2010)

The third game marked the end of the original trilogy and offers a thoughtful ending to Kratos’ journey.

God of War: Ghost of Sparta (2010)

This was the second GoW game for PSP and was playable on PS3 the year after its release.

The story takes place between the events of GoW I and II, see Kratos visiting the mythical underwater city of Atlantis.

God of War: Ascension (2013)

Ascension is the seventh installment in the series and chronologically the first chapter in Kratos’ story.

Read on to find out how to play the games in narrative order.

God of War (2018)

The latest version is more character-oriented, seeing players controlling an older, thoughtful Kratos trying to teach his son how to take care of himself.

Most read in The Irish Sun

It features all the recognizable combat and puzzles, but moves away from the ancient Greek world towards Norse mythology.

It was also the first game in the series to be ported to PC.

God of War: Ragnarok (expected 2022)

In the next game of the series, Kratos and his precocious son Atreus return.

It is slated for release in 2022, but an exact date has not yet been announced.

God of War timeline order

According to GuideFallif you want to experience Kratos’ story chronologically, you don’t have to play the games in sync with their release dates.

However, to do this you will have to switch between consoles as two of the games are on portable devices.

The $1 hack to keep your washing machine clean and clothes smelling amazing
My daughter was hit with 6 points on her driver's license - she is not old enough to drive

They suggest the following order:

  1. rise
  2. Chains of Olympus
  3. God of War (2005)
  4. Ghost of Sparta
  5. God of War II
  6. God of War III
  7. God of War (2018)

The upcoming – but as yet unreleased – God of War title Ragnarok is recommended as the last one to play.

https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9045711/god-of-war-order-by-release-date-and-timeline/ God of War games in order: By release date and schedule

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button