Handy Facebook feature you NEED to activate now delete your timeline

There is a little known Facebook feature that can help you delete your profile.

It allows users to mute specific words so that posts containing those words do not appear on their page.

Facebook lets you mute certain words in your News Feed

first

Facebook lets you mute certain words in your News FeedCredit: AFP

A similar tool was first introduced by Twitter in 2017, allowing users to block keywords from their timeline.

It’s a useful way to avoid topics you don’t care about, such as a TV show you don’t want spoiled or a political scandal you’re sick of hearing about.

The feature became popular among users and has since appeared on Mark Zuckerberg’s social network.

However, Facebook only allows you to turn off comments containing certain words on your profile.

“You can choose up to 1,000 keywords in any language (e.g. words, phrases, or emojis) to block from your Facebook profile,” Facebook says.

“When people put a keyword you’ve blocked in a comment, we’ll hide the comment so it doesn’t appear on your profile.”

Most read in Phone & amp; Tool

This feature doesn’t apply to other people’s posts appearing on your News Feed, although an extended mute function could launch further down the line.

To block words from your Facebook profile, tap the down arrow at the top of Facebook and select Settings and Privacy, then tap Setting.

In the menu on the left, click Profile and tag. Below file, option Hide comments containing certain words from your profile.

Add the keywords you want to block or click the emoji button to select the emoji you want to block.

There are plenty of other ways you can clean up your Facebook timeline.

The platform also allows you to hide certain people and pages, so their posts don’t appear in your feed.

It provides a more polite way to remove their content from your view than just unfriending or unfollowing them.

To do that, tap or click on their profile, then tap the button at the top of the page with a silhouette on it.

Choose “Unfollow” to mute their posts indefinitely, or “Take a break” to mute them for a short period of time.

Of course, you can always go nuclear and block someone if they’re really grinding your gears.

To do that, tap or click on their profile and select the button with three dots on it at the top of the page. Tap “Block”.

You can re-follow or unblock someone by following the steps above.

Facebook Messenger’s secret feature unlocks the HIDDEN trick – here’s how

In other news, personalized smart gun, which can only be activated by verified users, may eventually be made available to US consumers this year.

Scientists are embarking on a mission to unravel the mystery behind dozens of creepy baby mummy was buried in an underground tomb in Sicily.

The police caught an Italian mafia henchman who was on the run for 20 years after discovering the fugitive on Google Maps.

And, one of the The best preserved fossils was found that confirmed that juvenile dinosaurs popped out of their shells like baby birds.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Science & Technology team? Email us at the address tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/8226709/gadget-expert-activate-facebook-feature-now/ Handy Facebook feature you NEED to activate now delete your timeline

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button