House of the year 2022 revealed on Grand Design

The Red House in Dorset has been named the winner of the 2022 House of the Year architecture award.

His family’s newly built home was presented with an annual award by the Royal Institute of British Architects (Riba) in the final episode of Channel 4’s four-part series Grand Designs House Of The Year.

The award, established in 2013, is given to the best new house or extension designed by the best architect in the UK.

It beat Mediterranean style Seabreeze in East Sussex, converted farmhouse The Dutch Barn in West Sussex and industrial aesthetic Surbiton Springs in London to win the architecture award.

Suffolk Cottage, a renovated former four-room worker’s cottage, The Library House mirrors the nearby Grade II-listed Clapton Library in Hackney, and Mews House at the end of the refurbished terrace in London also made the shortlist.


RIBA House Of The Year 2022 has been awarded to The Red House by David Kohn Architects in Dorset. (Channel 4 and Will Pryce)

The Red House, inspired by the famous architect pair Alison and Peter Smithson, is associated with the 20th Century New Brutalism and the 19th Century Arts and Crafts Movement, Riba said.

Architect Philip Webb also designed a house called the Red House in London for designer William Morris, both of which were part of the 1800s art trend.

Riba’s jury president, architect Taro Tsuruta said the Dorset house – featuring an oversized porch, patterned red brick and dark blue details – was “the most debated piece ” and deserves “praise”.

The home’s central feature is the curved staircase that provides a sculpture-like effect.

Tsuruta, who received the Riba Prize in 2021 for the greenhouse development, also said the house is an “aesthetic and sustainable building with functionality fit for the future”.

He also said there is influence from leading architects with “many surprises throughout”.

The anonymous owner of the Red House said: “It is difficult to design a new home in a sensitive countryside for novices, but if we build an invisible house or a simulation design then that would be a consent.

“We love the house and its happy eccentricity.”

Video of the day

Their London-based architect, David Kohn, says his team’s “ambition” and “dedication” have paid off.

Director of David Kohn Architects added: “The jury has chosen to favor architecture that is intimate, playful, colorful and cohesive both with its context and history. I couldn’t be more delighted.”

He previously won Young Architect of the Year in 2009 from Building Design magazine and Inside World Interior of the Year in 2013.

Past House of the Year winners include McGonigle McGrath for House Lessons in 2019 and HaysomWardMiller for Lochside House in 2018. House of the year 2022 revealed on Grand Design

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button