How royal titles work | British Weekly

The Queen has stripped Prince Andrew of his rank and patronage after a US judge ruled that a civil lawsuit over sex abuse allegations against him could go ahead. .

Buckingham Palace announced decide after publishing a open letter signed by more than 150 Royal Navy, RAF and Army veterans that urge the Queen to remove Her second son eight British military titles.

Some of these titles were inherited by Andrew from his late father, Prince Philip, including Colonel of the Grenadier Guard, as described by BBC was “one of the most senior infantry regiments in the British army”.

But Andrew “didn’t lose everything,” Craig Prescott, a law lecturer at Bangor University, wrote in an article on Conversation. Along with his rank of vice admiral in the Royal Navy, Andrew retains his birth title of “prince” and “remains the Duke of York, which is to say a king”, explains Prescott. And he is still 9th ​​in line to the throne.

How the toilet works

Royal family is an age-old ranking system for the British nobility. Five ranks of kings still exist today: duke, queen, earl, viscount and baron.

Duke is “the highest and most important rank,” explains the online history magazine Historical UK. Edward III made his first duke, in 1337, when he made his eldest son Duke of Cornwall – a title currently held by Prince Charles. Dukes (and duchesses, female partners) are called “your grace”.

Andrew became the Duke of York when he married Sarah Ferguson in 1986. The title is traditionally given to the monarch’s second son and has previously been held by the Queen’s father, George VI and grandfather. hers, George V.

Unlike military titles, Andrew’s loathing can only be removed by an Act of Parliament. The removal of petty status “can only be effected by statute, passed by both the House of Commons and the House of Commons, and with royal assent, i.e. assent of the Queen”, for know I news Location.

Calls for Andrew to lose the dukedom were growing, especially in York, where a city council member launched a campaign in support of the move.

But there is no historical precedent for the Queen to strip her royal titles: Prince Harry and Meghan Markle remain the Duke and Duchess of Sussex despite renouncing royal life in January 2020.

Other ranks

A marquis, who is next in the nobility after a duke, is officially called a “lord”, and a marquis’ wife is a marquis, addressed as “lady”. Only one woman in history has made a maid of her own accord: Anne Boleyn, prior to her marriage to Henry VIII.

The next ranked in order of precedence is the count. The name is derived from the Anglo-Saxon word “eorl”, meaning military leader. After the count became viscount, a title was created in the 15th century, and later baron, a name derived from the Old German word “baro”, meaning free man.

Titles of titles can be inherited or bestowed for life. Historically, people of the same age were inherited from father to son sitting in the House of Lords. However, under the House of Lords Act 1999, most half-brothers have now been “removed”, leaving less than 100 people.

Today, hereditary ranks are only bestowed by the Queen to members of the Royal Family. Based on The Independent, grandchildren of the sons of the reigning monarch are naturally given the title “prince” or “princess,” but any title beyond that – such as duke or duchess – “is bestowed by politeness”.

Meaning of HRH

Although Andrew will retain his Royal Highness (HRH) title – described by New York Times is “a prized symbol of his status as a senior member of the Royal Family” – he will not be able to use it in any official capacity. This puts him on a par with the Duke and Duchess of Sussex after they moved to California.

HRH titles have been granted to descendants of monarchs since the early 18th century, at the discretion of the monarchs of the time.

“Not everyone accepts the offer to do HRH,” says CNN. The Queen’s daughter, Princess Anne, turned it down for her children, Peter and Zara.

“That is in contrast to Prince Andrew, who has allowed his daughters, Beatrice and Eugenie, to wear it,” the US-based news network added.

Andrew and the Sussexes are not the first royals to be barred from using the HRH title. The Queen also stripped Princess Diana and Sarah Ferguson of their titles following their divorce from Charles and Andrew. Instead, Diana was given the courtesy title of “Diana, Princess of Wales”.

How royal patronages work

In addition to the loss of his honorary badge and the use of HRH, Andrew has also been stripped of many of his royal patronage rights – when members of the Royal Family lend their name to an organization or charity.

According to family Official website.

In November 2019, “when the Duke of York stepped down, he held 230 patronage rights”, I news Location.

But many were “hurriedly outstripping the Queen’s second son” after his “disaster”. Night interview about his friendship with convicted pedophile Jeffrey Epstein, the newspaper continued.

However, ahead of the Palace’s announcement last week, “more than 90 organizations still appear on the official website in the list of the duke’s charities and patronages”.

Andrew’s patronage rights have now been returned to the Queen and will be redistributed to other members of the Royal Family. How royal titles work | British Weekly

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button