Technology

How to Cancel Spotify Premium

SPOTIFY is the world’s most popular music streaming service with more than 430 million users.

A staggering 182 million people are paying for the Swedish platform’s premium service, which offers ad-free listening.

Spotify has 271 million users, of which 124 million pay for Spotify Premium

1

Spotify has 271 million users, of which 124 million pay for Spotify PremiumPhoto credit: Getty

If you pay the £10/$10 fee, you can also download music and podcasts and skip unlimited.

But what if you want to cancel your subscription? Here’s a guide for anyone who needs to reduce their monthly expenses.

1. How to cancel Spotify Premium

To cancel Spotify Premium, you need to follow a few simple steps through Spotify website or its Android or iOS apps.

Keep in mind that canceling your subscription means you will lose access to premium features.

  1. First, log in to your account page in the app or online. You will need your password and username to do this.
  2. Under Your plan, look for the Change plan option and click on it.
  3. Scroll to Spotify Free and click Cancel Premium. This will cancel your paid premium subscription and change it to a free Spotify account. This includes advertisements that play after a certain number of songs.
  4. Proceed to the confirmation message confirming that you have completed the cancellation and are no longer paying for Spotify Premium.

2. Will I lose my downloaded songs if I cancel Spotify Premium?

Your account page will show you the date your plan will switch to Spotify Free.

Until then, you can continue to enjoy the benefits of Spotify Premium.

This includes the ability to download songs and store them on your iPhone, Android smartphone or PC.

Therefore, once you switch to Spotify Free, you will lose all your downloads.

Your saved content (playlists, popular songs, followed artists, followers, etc.) will not be lost.

3. Will canceling Spotify Premium delete my account?

If you cancel Spotify Premium, your account will be upgraded to the Spotify Free tier.

This means all your saved playlists, likes, followers and more will remain even after the switch.

To delete your account, you need to contact Spotify after canceling your paid subscription.

There is no way to recover your account once it’s closed, so be safe.

The same username can’t be used more than once, so you’ll need a new one if you want to rejoin – and all your playlists will be gone.

Click Account to delete, then click I want to close my account.

This should prompt a button titled Contact Us to Close. Click on it.

You should then fill out the information form and click Start Chat.

A Spotify employee should then start typing.

I was stunned to see myself in one of my husband's 15 year old childhood photos
This Morning's Alison Hammond looks slimmer than ever in her gold dress

You should state that you wish to permanently close your account.

The employee should then confirm this, perform the task, and send you an email confirmation once they’re done.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/6407056/how-to-cancel-spotify/ How to Cancel Spotify Premium

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button