Technology

How to delete a Snapchat account

Social media users can be notoriously fickle with platforms going out of style and the latest must-have app becoming the big new thing.

If you think it’s time to give up Snapchat and move on to the next fad, here’s our handy guide to getting rid of the app.

It only takes a few easy steps to delete a Snapchat account

first

It only takes a few easy steps to delete a Snapchat accountCredit: Getty – Contributor

How to delete a Snapchat account

If you want to delete your Snapchat account but still want to preserve the memories, never fear.

The social media platform allows you to download images, videos, stories and messages to a Zip file before you fully commit to severing ties.

It’s also important to note that you can’t delete your Snapchat account from the app on your phone – you have to be online to do it.

To say goodbye to your Snapchat account, follow these easy steps:

1. Access the account portal at Account.snapchat.comand enter the username and password for the account you want to delete.

2. Scroll down and click the Remove Account button.

3. When prompted, enter your username and password. Don’t forget these details, in case you change your mind and want to reactivate your account.

Your account will then be deleted – but will remain active for 30 days, so you have plenty of time to change your mind.

Before performing the above steps, you can download your data from the app.

To do this, log into your account on the website, not the app, and click My Data in the account home page.

Then, go to the bottom of the page and tap Submit Request.

A copy of your Snapchat data in a ZIP file will arrive in your verified email inbox within 24 hours.

You must do this before deleting your account or the file will not arrive.

One good reason not to delete your account is that The Sun has its own dedicated Snapchat account and you can follow them all. News and gossip here.

Instead of deleting your Snapchat account, you can always change your username.

Here’s how to unlock your Snapchat account.

How long before my Snapchat account is permanently deleted?

Before you hit the delete button, note that Snapchat keeps your data for 30 days, so if you get cold, you can easily reinstall the app and pick up where you left off.

During this 30-day period, friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.

After the 30 days are up, the account, account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Stories, device data, and location data in Snapchat’s database will be deleted.

While your account is disabled, you can only log in with your username and password.

You cannot sign in with your email address and you cannot change your password.

Can I recover my deleted Snapchat account?

To reactivate your account, log back into the Snapchat app with your username within 30 days of deactivating your account.

Chelsea FC Roman Abramovich punished
Katie Price gets biggest tattoo with £180 ink revealing biggest boobs ever

It can sometimes take 24 hours before a deactivated account can be reactivated.

If you deleted your account for more than 30 days, it will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

https://www.thesun.ie/tech/6720200/delete-snapchat-account/ How to delete a Snapchat account

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button