Ireland unveil team for European boxing championships


IRELAND has selected a 10-strong team for the European Men’s Boxing Championships in Armenia later this month.

The team consists of European U-22 gold medalist Jack Marley, silver medalist Adam Hession and bronze medalist Dylan Eagleson.

Brandon McCarthy, who recently won a gold medal at the Golden Belt-Nicolae Linca tournament in Romania, is selected along with Rickey Nesbitt and Gabriel Dossen, both bronze medalists at the same event.

Tokyo Olympic medalist Aidan Walsh is a notable absentee, however. After an injury at the Tokyo Olympics, he returned to the ring in Romania and reached the final but was forced to withdraw from the gold medal fight.

The tournament, hosted by the Armenia Boxing Federation, will be held in Yerevan from May 21-31.

Meanwhile, the Ireland women’s team is preparing for the World Cup, which begins in Istanbul on Friday.

Olympic champion Kellie Harrington is out after sustaining an injury at a training camp in Italy last week.

The men’s team for the European Championship is: 48 kg Ricky Nesbitt, Holy Family, Drogheda; 51kg Sean Mari, Monkstown BC, Dublin; 54kg Dylan Eagleson, St Pauls, Belfast; 57kg Adam Hession, Monivea BC, Galway; 60kg JP Hale, Stern ABC, Belfast. 63.5kg Brandon McCarthy, St Michael, Athy; 67 kg Eugene McKeever, Holy Family, Drogheda; 71kg Luke Maguire, Esker BC, Dublin; 75kg Gabriel Dossen, Olympic, Galway. 92kg Jack Marley, Monkstown BC, Dublin

The women’s team for the World Cup is: 48kg Shannon Sweeney, St Anne’s, Mayo; 50kg Caitlin Fryers, Immaculata BC, Belfast 54kg Niamh Fay, Phoenix of Ballyboughal, Dublin; 57kg Michaela Walsh, Emerald BC, Belfast; 63hg Amy Broadhurst, St Bronagh’s ABC, Rosstrevor; 66kg Kaci Rock, Enniskerry BC, Wicklow; 70kg Lisa O’Rourke, Olympic BC, Galway; 75kg Aoife O’Rourke, Olympic BC, Galway. Ireland unveil team for European boxing championships

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button