Irish independent journalists win top prizes at Travel Writing Awards


Journalists and contributors from Mediahuis Ireland received five out of six awards at this year’s Travel Extra Travel Journalist Awards.

rish Independent Travel Editor Pól O Conghaile won the Content Award for Best Northern Ireland, while Tom Sweeney, Editor-in-Chief of Mediahuis Ireland and Herald Travel Editor, won for Best Digital Media.

It was a remarkable day for Mediahuis Ireland, whose authors dominated the awards ceremony at a ceremony in Dublin’s CHQ building today.

Irish independent contributor Nicola Brady won the Best International category. Conor Power, who also contributes to Mediahuis Ireland titles, was the winner in the Home Market category, sponsored by Fáile Ireland.

The Best Broadcast category was won by RTÉ’s Bláthnaid Treacy for Tracks & Trails.

The Awards Ceremony and Awards Ceremony were sponsored by the Spanish Tourist Board (Ireland) and the Tourist Board of Gran Canaria.

A Travel Extra spokesman said that despite fewer travel opportunities in 2021, there was a significant number of submissions showing the creativity and continued innovation of travel and tourism journalism in Ireland.

The overall award for Travel Writer of the Year went to Catherine Murphy, an independent Irish writer who also won Best Adventure & Skiing. Irish independent journalists win top prizes at Travel Writing Awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button