Leinster trio shortlisted for EPCR European Player of the Year Awards

Leinster trio Josh van der Flier, James Lowe and Caelan Doris have made the five-man shortlist for the European Rugby Player of the Year award, governing body ECPR said on Tuesday.

Back row pairing Doris and Van der Flier and left winger Lowe played a crucial role in helping four-time Champions Cup winners Leinster progress to this year’s final.

La Rochelle, who will face Leinster in Marseille next weekend, was represented by captain Gregory Alldritt, who made a try-scoring contribution in Sunday’s narrow semi-final win over Racing 92.

Last year’s winner Antoine Dupont, who plays for Toulouse, rounded out the shortlist after leading France to their first Grand Slam and Six Nations titles since 2010 in March.

The winner of the award – the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy – will be announced after the Champions Cup final at the Stade Velodrome on May 28th.

Voting for one of the most valuable individual awards in world rugby has now reopened at epcrugby.com/epoty and the winner – who will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy – will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final between Leinster and La Rochelle given Stade Vélodrome on Saturday May 28th.

2022 EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist

Caelan Doris (Leinster Rugby)

James Lowe (Leinster Rugby)

Josh van der Flier (Leinster Rugby)

Gregory Alldritt (La Rochelle)

Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)


Alan Quinlan (Two-time Heineken Champions Cup Winner / Virgin Media), Erik Bonneval (beIN Sports), Bryan Habana (Two-time Heineken Champions Cup Winner), Lee McKenzie (Channel 4), Dimitri Yachvili (EPCR Challenge Cup Winner / France Television ).

roll of honor

2021: Antoine Dupont (Toulousain Stadium)

2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter bosses)

2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)

2018: Leone Nakarawa (Race 92)

2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)

2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)

2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)

2013: Jonny Wilkinson (R.C. Toulon)

2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)

2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)

2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – Best Player of the First 15 Years in European Club Rugby)

https://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/leinster-rugby/leinster-trio-on-shortlist-for-epcr-european-player-of-the-year-award-41658807.html Leinster trio shortlisted for EPCR European Player of the Year Awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button