Limerick secure historic penalty shoot-out win to advance to Munster semi-finals

James Naughton scored the decisive penalty as Limerick secured their place in the Munster semi-finals after a thrilling and historic 4-1 penalty shootout win over Clare.

The prize was huge, with Kerry and Cork in the other half of the draw, and it was the visitors who went into half-time with a narrow 1-9 to 1-6 lead.

Brian Fanning and David Tubridy scored but Limerick kept the advantage late in the game when Jamie Malone gave Clare the lead only for Robbie Bourke to send them into overtime.

Bourke completed the second Limerick goal but Eoin Cleary saw the game go to penalties.

And Limerick won the shootout with goals from Iain Corbett, Robbie Bourke, Brian Donovan and James Naughton.

Aaron Griffin and Josh Ryan traded points early on, but Tubridy and Darren O’Neill twice gave Clare the lead before Griffin doubled his tally.

Limerick scored a goal six minutes before the break through Fanning, who then conceded a penalty which Tubridy converted.

The scores came thick and fast on the resumption, but when Cleary landed an inspirational effort, Clare trailed 1-11 to 1-9. They had the momentum and substitute Brendan Rouine equalized five minutes from time.

Jamie Malone thought he had won the game for Clare but Robbie Bourke sent it into overtime and hit the net in the 81st minute.

There was more drama when Cleary equalized in the 91st minute and a penalty shootout ensued, with Limerick becoming the first team to win a senior championship game on penalties.

Goalscorers — Limerick: Ryan J. 0-6 (5f); R Bourke 1-2 (2f); B Fanning 1-0; Nash P, Fahy C 0-2 each; B. Donovan, A. Enright, D. Treacy, H. Bourke 0-1 each. Klara: E clear 0-6 (2f); D Tubridy 1-1 (1 pin); A griffin 0-4; B Rouine (1f), D O’Neill 0-2 each; P Lillis, E McMahon, G Cooney, J Malone 0-1 each.

Limerick: D O’Sullivan; M Donovan, B Fanning, S O’Dea; C Sheehan, I Corbett, P Maher; J Ryan, D Treacy; B Donovan, C Fahy, J Naughton; A. Enright, H. Bourke, P. Nash. Subtitle: J Liston for M Donovan (53), D Kelly for Enright (59), R Bourke for Ryan (65), G Brown for Maher (65), T Griffin for B Donovan (69), K Ryan for Kelly (70), B. Donovan for Bourke (73), C. McSweeney for Sheehan (77).

Klara: T O’Callaghan; Rouine C, Brennan C, Doherty M; E Collins, C Russell, C O’Dea; D O’Neill, J Malone; E McMahon, E Cleary, P Lillis; G Cooney, D Tubridy, A Griffin. Subtitle: D Walsh for E Collins (56), B Rouine for Tubridy (57), C Downes for Lillis (65), P Collins for McMahon (66), C Jordan for P Collins (70), D McDonagh for Doherty (79), C Morrissey for Brennan (80), J McGann for Cooney (80).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork). Limerick secure historic penalty shoot-out win to advance to Munster semi-finals

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button