Martin McDonagh is notably absent from WGA’s top screenplay category nominations

Martin McDonagh was notably absent from the Writers Guild of America (WGA) list for best original screenplay.

The British-Irish director’s main awards season rivals Steven Spielberg, Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, and Todd Field were all nominated in the top WGA category.

It comes after all five directors were nominated for the Academy Award for best original screenplay on Tuesday, along with Triangle Of Sadness writer Ruben Ostlund.

Spielberg was nominated for the WGA Best Original Screenplay award for Fabelmans, Field for Tar, and Kwan and Scheinert for Everything Everywhere All At Once.

McDonagh’s The Banshees Of Inisherin won a Golden Globe for best screenplay and was also nominated in the same category at the Critics Choice Awards (CCA).

But the film was rejected by the WGA on Wednesday.

The surprise contender for WGA’s best original screenplay is The Menu, written by Seth Reiss and Will Tracy; and No by Jordan Peele.

Neither the screenplay of the film was nominated at the Golden Globe or the CCA.


Jordan Peele’s Nope is a surprise contender for WGA’s best original screenplay (Ian West/PA)

Snubs also starred in the nine-time Oscar-nominated German films All Quiet On The Western Front and Living – starring Bill Nighy – neither of which made it to the WGA’s best adapted screenplay category. .

The sequels to blockbuster Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery and Top Gun: Maverick, all received nominations in this category.

Sarah Polley’s Women Talking, starring Frances McDormand, Claire Foy and Ben Whishaw also received nominations, as did She Said, written by Ehren Kruger, Eric Warren Singer and Christopher McQuarrie.

In the WGA television categories, Quinta Brunson’s Abbott Elementary received nominations for both comedy series and new series, as did The Bear.

Video of the day

The Crown was nominated for Best Serial Drama, and Sharon Horgan’s Bad Sisters also earned a nomination in the WGA Best New Drama category.

The winners of the 75th Annual Writers Guild of America Award will be announced on Sunday, March 5. Martin McDonagh is notably absent from WGA’s top screenplay category nominations

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button