Mayo beat Galway in the quarter-finals of the Connacht U20 Championship


Maurice Sheridan’s Mayo side came through with weak goals in a match in Connacht’s U20 quarter-finals against Galway, played in high winds at the Connacht Center of Excellence on Wednesday night.

Five minutes into the second half, winger Jack Fallon scored the deciding goal for Mayo and helped them build a six-point lead just enough to thwart a late Galway comeback.

Competing with three senior Mayo panelists in Sam Callinan, Donnacha McHugh and Frank Irwin, Mayo played against a vicious wind in the first half but held Galway to just two points in the first 30 minutes.

Goalkeeper Brian O’Flaherty had pulled off a superb double save to first stop Galway senior panelist Tomo Culhane and then Charlie Power from scoring an early goal.

With both teams struggling at times to adapt to the conditions, Mayo’s Cian O’Connell and Irwin’s points were nullified by Daniel Flaherty and Dylan Brady, leaving the sides 2-0 at the break.

Fallon pounced on an erratic pass from Conor Corcoran to score the game’s first goal in the 35th minute, and points from Bob Tuohy, Irwin and Heneghan put Mayo in sixth with five minutes left. A goal from James McLoughlin and a clean point from Nathan Grainger reduced Galway’s deficit to two late on, but Mayo looked set to claim a second win over their rivals in this class in two years.

They will face Leitrim in a Connacht semi-final next Wednesday night.

Meanwhile, Longford defeated Wexford 4-9, 1-7 in the first round of Leinster U-20 at Parnell Park.


Mayo: Jack Fallon 1-0, Frank Irwin (1f) and Cian O’Connell each 0-2, Paddy Heneghan and Bob Tuohy each 0-1.

Galway: James McLoughlin 1-0, Nathan Grainger 0-2 (1f, 1’45), Daniel Flaherty and Dylan Brady each 0-1.


MAYO – Brian O’Flaherty; Alfie Morrison, Ruairi Keane, Conal Dawson; Fenton Kelly, Sam Callinan, Aiden Cosgrove; Frank Irwin, Donnacha McHugh; Tom O’Flaherty, Dylan Thornton, Jack Fallon; Cian McHale, Paddy Heneghan, Cian O’Connell.

subs: Mark Cunningham (for O’Connell 44), Paul Walsh (for McHale 45), Conor Reid (for Fallon 47), Bob Tuohy (for 53), Sean Morahan (for Morrison 59).

Galway-JAmes Egan; Conor Corcoran, Eanna Donohue, Colm MacDonnacha; Ruairi King, Jonathan McGrath, Daniel Flaherty; James McLoughlin, Conall Gallagher; Rory Donnellan, Warren Seoighe, Dylan Brady; Charlie Power, Tomo Culhane, Nathan Grainger.

Subtitle: Daniel Cox (for Donnellan ht), Cormac Greaney (for King 38), Evan Nolan (for Gallagher 47), Jake Slattery (for Power 53), Liam O Conghaile (for Seoighe 57).

Ref: Michael McGirl (Leitrim) Mayo beat Galway in the quarter-finals of the Connacht U20 Championship

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button