Michaela Coel and Russell T Davies among writers appointed as RSL Fellows

Michaela Coel, Russell T Davies and Nick Cave are among the newly appointed writers of the Royal Society of Literature (RSL).

he welcomed writers as part of a group of 60 new appointments announced by the charity during an event held in south London on Tuesday.

The event also hosted RSL’s largest mass showcase as 148 fellows and honorary fellows elected for the period 2020-2022 signed on to the list.


Nick Cave said it was an “absolute honor” to be elected an RSL (Matt Crossick/PA) member.

The RSL book dates back to 1825, five years after the foundation of the charity in 1820, and is signed by appointed fellows of the past 200 years.

To be nominated as a fellow, a writer must have published or produced two outstanding works of literature, and two graduate students or honorary fellows must be nominated.

Actress and screenwriter Coel has produced many notable works but she is best known for her roles in the E4 sitcom Chewing Gum and the Bafta award-winning sexual assault film I May Destroy You.

Meanwhile, Davies’ credits include Queer As Folk, Doctor Who and the award-winning Channel 4 drama It’s A Sin.

Singer-songwriter Cave, who has worked on a number of writing projects in various forms during his career, added that it was an “absolute honor” to be elected as an RSL member.

RSL President and Booker Prize winner Bernardine Evaristo also reflects on the importance of storytelling between auctions.


RSL President Bernardine Evaristo reflected on the importance of storytelling (Ian West/PA)

The best-selling author of Girl, Woman, Other said: “Storytelling is at the heart of who we are – it’s how we understand, contextualise, mirror, examine, challenge, entertain, and imagine imagine life from a variety of experiences and perspectives.

Video of the day

“We all deserve to be as active and equal participants in the wide-ranging production and consumption of literature as we are.”

Among the 60 newly appointed are the first group of writers to be elected as fellows through the charity’s 200th Anniversary Expansion Initiative.

This initiative aims to appoint 60 writers as PhD students over the course of two years from communities, backgrounds and experiences that are currently underrepresented in UK literary culture.

29 writers were elected in the first year of this show with Derry Girls writer Lisa McGee.


Writer Lisa McGee created the hit comedy Derry Girls (Liam McBurney/PA)

RSL President Daljit Nagra said: “We at RSL are a community of readers and writers coming together for the advancement of literature, bringing our wide range of experiences and perspectives to tackle a problem. the greatest questions of our time.

“A scholarship is not just an honor bestowed on a writer by their peers; being a friend will give you the opportunity to show what literature can do to change our lives.

“Our fellows are informed about the work we do, and our summer party is a joyful celebration of writers who have enriched our nation with their cultural wealth of their generous literature.

“I am delighted to be the chairman of an organization that showcases the exceptional excellence and diversity of writing in the UK, and makes it possible for us to create the society we want to live in.”

The Benson Medal, honoring literary service throughout a career, is also awarded to author, tutor, editor and literary consultant Sandra A Agard.

She has published numerous works and has worked for over 40 years in libraries, educational and cultural institutions and literary festivals across the UK and in the US.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/michaela-coel-and-russell-t-davies-among-writers-appointed-as-rsl-fellows-41835264.html Michaela Coel and Russell T Davies among writers appointed as RSL Fellows

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button