Millions of Android phone owners are warning of “Red Alert” that you must not ignore

EVERY Android phone owner should be aware of a dangerous warning that you should not ignore.

There is an important Google security setting that can protect you from devastating hack attacks.

Never ignore this pop-up when you see it while surfing the web

1

Never ignore this pop-up when you see it while surfing the webCredit: Google

It’s called Google Safe Browsing and it’s designed to protect you while using Chrome on Android.

When you are surfing the web and navigating to a certain website, a pop-up window may appear.

It will say “The previous website contains malware.”

This means that you should avoid clicking through the website as hackers might try to infiltrate your device.

Matt Hancock can't keep his hands off his girlfriend at the I'm A Celeb finale
I'm a celebrity fan who was stunned when 2021 winner Danny Miller made it to the finals

And that could leave your phone, logins, and accounts compromised — leaving you at the mercy of hackers.

“With Google Safe Browsing, you can surf the Internet with confidence and protect yourself from dangerous websites and malicious files,” Google said.

“We’ll warn you if you try to navigate to a corrupt website or file.

“We keep you safe so you don’t encounter malware or phishing scams.

“Because you shouldn’t be tricked into giving out your private information.”

How to enable Google Safe Browsing

To check your Safe Browsing settings, first open the Google Chrome app on your Android device.

Then tap More (three dots) and then Settings (gear).

Now select Privacy and Security and then Safe Browsing.

You can then choose the level of Safe Browsing you want to use.

There are three different levels available.

The first is No protectionwhere Safe Browsing is completely disabled for Chrome – although it may still be enabled in other apps like Gmail.

And then there’s standard protectionthat automatically warns you about “potentially risky websites and downloads”.

This setting can also be used to warn you about compromised passwords.

The third and most powerful option is Enhanced Protection.

This automatically warns you about risky sites, downloads and leaked passwords.

It sends additional information about your activity to Google for overall security.

Urging millions of iPhone and Android owners to check out the life-saving feature now
Change your Google settings on Android now or it could cost you

And it checks the safety of your downloads to see if a file could be dangerous.

You can even send files directly to Google, where they’ll be “scanned for extra security.”

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9810825/android-red-alert-danger-warning-chrome-hack/ Millions of Android phone owners are warning of “Red Alert” that you must not ignore

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button