Millions of iPhone users have been told to turn off the main feature – ignoring it could cost you

IPHONE users are encouraged to disable an important feature to avoid additional upgrade costs later.

The feature called Live Photos records a mini video every time you take a photo with your iPhone.

Your iPhone captures Live Photos, which contain multiple images

1

Your iPhone captures Live Photos, which contain multiple imagesCredit: apple

While this can be useful for getting the perfect shot, it takes up a lot more space on your device than a standard still image.

If this stays on, you may need to buy a new iPhone upgrade with more storage in the near future, invest in more expensive cloud storage, or even delete photos to free up space.

What are Live Photos?

With Live Photos, your iPhone records what happens 1.5 seconds before and after you take a picture.

I found a SECRET iMessage code that unlocks a hidden iPhone feature
Why Your iPhone Always Charges Slowly - Three BIG Mistakes You Make

They capture a Live Photo just like a traditional photo, so some people might not even realize they’re using the feature.

The benefit of Live Photos is that since each shot is recorded as a mini video, you can step through each frame to choose a different key photo and get that perfect shot.

You can also add fun effects like bounce or loop effects and edit the Live Photo before sharing with your family and friends.

Despite their advantages, Live Photos have one major disadvantage – they take up a lot of storage space.

And since iPhones don’t support storage expansion in the form of memory cards, they can easily fill up – especially if you have one of the cheaper devices.

Higher storage options add significantly to the cost of an iPhone, so upgrading doesn’t come cheap.

For example, the cheapest, and therefore lowest, storage option for the latest iPhone 13 is £779.00 SIM-free for 128GB.

The next model, with 256GB of storage, costs £100 more and costs £879.00. However, if you want the highest 512GB option, that will cost you £1,079.00. That’s a whopping £300 as the lowest capacity option.

So if you don’t use Live Photos, it’s worth turning off the feature to optimize your iPhone’s storage space and save some cash later.

How to turn off Live Photos

To avoid filling up your iPhone’s internal storage and facing extra charges in the future, simply turn off Live Photos.

To do this, Apple Support explains that you simply have to navigate from the Camera app and tap the Live Photos button to disable the feature. A slash through the Live Photos button means the feature is disabled.

However, this doesn’t leave the feature permanently disabled, as the camera app will automatically enable Live Photos when it’s reloaded.

To keep Live Photos out, go to your phone’s Settings app, tap “Camera,” then tap the “Keep Settings” option. Then just make sure the switch next to Live Photo is turned on.

If it’s too late and your iPhone storage is already full, don’t panic – there are ways to fix the problem.

Check out our iPhone storage guide for three nifty tricks to free up storage so you can be shooting again in no time.

  • Read the latest phone and gadget news
  • Stay up to date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9092160/iphone-turn-off-live-photos-cost/ Millions of iPhone users have been told to turn off the main feature – ignoring it could cost you

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button