Munster MHC recap: Clare Edge Cork as tip sweeps Waterford aside

Clare’s hopes of winning the first Electric Ireland Munster MHC title since 2011 remain alive after beating Cork at the Páirc Uí Rinn.

The Banner were never behind and responded well to losing a six-point lead in the first half as they started the second half with a goal from Cian Neylon within 45 seconds of the restart and were six points back at 38 were in the leadth Minute. Although Cork fought well to stay in the tie, the goal remained important to keep Clare in the lead.

Having not played for three weeks after topping his group, Cork was rusty from the start and his scoring efficiency was lower than before – they had 21 wides in total. Clare, with Oisín Whelan, James Organ and Jack O’Neill shining in attack and Eoin Gunning brilliant in defence, went 7-0 to 3-0 after four straight points and then, after Timmy Wilk had answered for Cork, Whelan scored a nice hit to 1:7 to 0:4.

Cork fought back well, however, and Ross O’Sullivan’s goal helped them equal 8-1 before the teams were eliminated 9-1 each. However, Neylon’s goal restored Clare’s lead that would never be lost and Whelan was consistently accurate from dead balls. Adam O’Sullivan, Daniel Murnane and Peter O’Shea had points when Cork took the fight to Clare but although Ross O’Sullivan created a late scoring opportunity, Mark Sheedy saved and the Banners meet Tipperary next week.

Scorers – Clare: O Whelan 1-8 (5f, 2 65), C Neylon 1-1, J Organ 0-4, M Collins, J O’Neill 0-2 each. Cork: R O’Sullivan 1-4 (2 65, 1f), A O’Sullivan 0-4, P O’Shea, T Wilk, S O’Donoghue 0-2 each, J Murray, B Walsh, D Murnane 0 – 1 each
CLARE: M Sheedy; E Gunning, F Treacy, J Cahill; S McMahon, J Hegarty, R McNamara; P Ó Sé, D Stritch; M Collins, J O’Neill, J Organ; C Neylon, O Whelan, S Scanlon. Substitutes: D Keane Hayes for Collins (47), M O’Halloran for Stritch (55), F Hegarty for O’Neill, F Hayes for Scanlon (both 60).

CORK: D O’Connell; D Cashman, J O’Brien, E Guinane; T O’Leary Hayes, D Murnane, M Woods; P O’Shea, B Walsh; A O’Sullivan, J Murray, T Wilk; J Casey, S O’Donoghue, R O’Sullivan. Substitutes: S Ahern for O’Brien (20-23, temporary), J Wigginton Barrett for Casey (43), O Fitzgerald for Murray (47), D McCarthy for Walsh (53).

Referee: N Barry (Waterford).

Tipperary 3-27 Waterford 0-15

Full forward Tom Delaney shot 1-12 from the game as Tipperary’s Minor Hurlers beat Waterford in Thurle’s 21-point winner.

The Cahir man kept a low profile as James Woodlock’s side set up a Munster final with Clare next week. Substitutes Jack Hayes and Darragh McCarthy added late goals for a rampant home side.

The sides were equal five times in the first nine minutes before Tipp pulled away. Delaney ended the half 1-6 from the game. In the 31st minute, a high ball from Ciarán Foley was blocked by Waterford goalkeeper Brian Callaghan and smashed into the net by Delaney. He also pinned amazing points from both touchlines. Jack Twomey took five points for Waterford, including a beauty in front of the New Stand as they were 1-14, 8-0 at the break.

Seven points was as close as Waterford had come in the second period. Delaney added six points to his tally. In the 60th minute, he set up a goal with sub Jack Hayes. Darragh McCarthy added another a minute later. Waterford goalkeeper Brian Callaghan made three brilliant saves in the second half.

Scorers for Tipperary: T Delaney 1-12, D McCarthy 1-1 (1f), P McCormack, D Corbett (3fs, 165), 0-4 each, J Hayes 1-0, A Daly, C Martin, J Egan 0 -2 each.

Scorers for Waterford: J Twomey 0-10 (8fs, 1 65), P Cummins, M Morrissey, G Power, B O’Sullivan, C Tobin 0-1 each.

Tipperary: E Horgan; C O’Donnell, A O’Halloran, J Quinlan; S O’Farrell, T Sheehan, J O’Callaghan; J Egan, A Daly; Phelan P, Foley C, Martin C; D Corbett, T Delaney, P McCormack.

Subs: C English for Corbett (50), D McCarthy for Phelan (53), S Rowan for Martin (56), K Loughnane for Sheehan (58), J Hayes for McCormack (58).

Waterford: B. Callaghan; Brennan T, Drohan B, Keane C; B. O’Connell, A. O’Neill, D. Walsh; D Lalor, P Cummins; M Morrissey, S Mackey, G Power; J Henley, J Twomey, B O’Sullivan.

Substitutes: J Hegarty for Lalor (32), C Tobin for Henley (HT), B Flynn for Power (52), C Dunphy for Walsh (60).

Referee: J Donnellan (Clare) Munster MHC recap: Clare Edge Cork as tip sweeps Waterford aside

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button