Munster U-20 Football Semi-Finals: Kerry and Cork advance to the final

This is how the semi-finals of the U20 football championship in Münster went on Monday evening.

Kerry 1-11 Clare 0-8

Cillian Burke took Kerry closer to Munster’s fourth U-20 title in six seasons with a 42nd-minute goal in Miltown Malbay to pave the way to the final with Cork.

Burke’s goal initiated a second-half blitz that saw Kindgom’s men score unanswered 6-1 to Clare, securing a spot in next Monday’s decider.

In the first half, the Banner had established a 6-0, 4-0 half-time lead with goals from Thomas Meenaghan and Seán McNamara along with rouine cousins ​​Ennistymon Brendy and Eoin.

However, their momentum faltered when Kerry went 1-6 while trotting, with Burke (1-2) and Kevin Goulding (0-2) doing the most damage in a 15-minute blitz.

While Clare fought off Brian McNamara, Fionn Kelleher and the Rouines, it was too little, too late.

Goalscorers – Kerry: C. Burke 1-2; D. Geaney 0-4 (1f); K Goulding 0-3; D Byrnes (f), T O’Donnell each 0-1. Klara: J Rafferty, E Rouine, B Rouine (1f) 0-2; T Meenaghan, S McNamara 0-1 each.

Kerry: D burns; J Nagle, A Dineen, D O’Callaghan, E O’Connor, A Heinrich, T Cronin; R Murphy, S O’Brien; Burke C, O’Donnell T, Looney E; D Geaney, K Goulding, W Shine. Subtitle: K Evans for Shine (39), T Doyle for Looney (45), A Curran for Cronin (50), G Hassett for Goulding (51), C Ryan for O’Brien (55).

Klara: O O’Loughlin; E Casey, F Guinnane, C McMahon; O Cunningham, F Kelleher, E Walsh; B. McNamara, E. Rouine; M Garry, B Rouine, S Griffin; Rafferty J, McNamara S, Meenaghan T. Subtitle: C Meaney for Rafferty (42), J Moloney for Guinane (49), C McGroary for Garry (50), C Mahony for Meenaghan (52), G Downes for Griffin (59).

Referee: J Ryan (Cork).

Corks 2-15 Limerick 0-5

Cork reached Munster’s Under-20 football final when a two-minute blitz early in the second half opened a gap that Limerick was never able to bridge at Ballyagran.

The Rebels didn’t have a will of their own before the break, however, as the home side kept the goal and secured a connection with a counterattack. In fact, Cork scored the most goals in three minutes around the quarter mark before Limerick clawed back two frees and were 0-6, 0-4 at half-time.

Hugh Murphy’s goal from a throw-in and a short kickout augured Limerick’s disaster and when Ryan O’Donoghue awarded a penalty the Rebels began a procession of goals to the final whistle, only interrupted by Cormac Woulfe, who handed Limerick’s only Point out of the game four minutes before the end.

Goalscorers – Cork: R O’Donoghue 1-7 (1-0pen, 2f, 2’45); C. Hanlon 0-4 (1m); H Murphy 1-0; D O’Mahony 0-2; C Daly, P O’Driscoll each 0-1. Limerick: E. Rigter 0:2 (2f); Darragh Murray (’45), David O’Shaughnessy (f), C Woulfe each 0-1.

Cork: C Dungan; J O’Driscoll, T Walsh, D Peet; D Cashman, N Lordan, S Brady; K Scannell, A Walsh; RO’Sullivan, C Walsh, H Murphy; R. O’Donovan, C. Hanlon, D. O’Mahony. Subtitle: A Walsh-Murphy for O’Mahony (44), P O’Driscoll for O’Sullivan (47), C Daly for Murphy (51), E Walsh for C Walsh (55), F Fenner for Scannell (56).

Limerick: S. O’Connell; E McGrath, P Holian, R O’Connor; S Kilbridge, A Neville, C Woulfe; P McMahon, D Murray; J Baynham, E Rigter, C Ó Duinn; K Mullins, D Bridgeman, D O’Shaughnessy. Subtitle: S O’Donoghue for Mullins (ht), Z McCarthy for Ó Duinn (37), C McGrath for McMahon (39), M Cremins for Kilbridge (47), T Donovan for Bridgeman (51).

Referee: N Quinn (Clare). Munster U-20 Football Semi-Finals: Kerry and Cork advance to the final

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button