No-confidence vote in Boris Johnson held TODAY as 54 Tory MPs demand he be ousted

Boris Johnson now faces a desperate fight for survival after the leader of the 1922 Tory MPs Committee announced a leadership vote would be held

Boris Johnson faces a vote of no confidence
Boris Johnson faces a vote of no confidence

A no-confidence vote has been sparked in Boris Johnson in a Tory attempt to overthrow the Prime Minister.

The chairman of the 1922 Backbench Committee, Sir Graham Brady, informed MPs that the threshold of 54 letters to trigger a formal challenge to leadership had been reached.

That means the Tory leader faces a desperate struggle for survival just under two years after winning a landslide 80-seat victory in the 2019 general election.

A secret vote by Tory MPs is to take place tonight.

Sir Graham Brady said in a statement: “The threshold of 15 per cent of parliamentary parties seeking a vote of confidence in the Conservative Party leader has been crossed.

“In accordance with the rules, a vote will be held between 1800 and 2000 TODAY MONDAY 6 JUNE – details to be confirmed.

“The votes will be counted immediately afterwards. An announcement will be made at a time to be determined. The modalities for the announcement will be published during the day.”

Boris Johnson was booed during the platinum anniversary celebrations


(Getty Images)

While only 54 letters were needed to trigger a vote, at least half of the MPs voting – around 180 – would need to cast the vote of no-confidence to oust Boris Johnson.

If he survives the vote, Mr Johnson will be immune from a Tory no-confidence vote for a further year. Such was the outcome for Theresa May in 2018 – although pressure forced her to resign just months later.

The Tory leader was thought to face a no-confidence vote earlier in the year when he was accused of lying about Partygate.

He claimed “nobody told me” that a BYOB No10 bash in May 2020 was against the rules. The 2019 Red Wall MPs led a furious revolt dubbed the Pork Pie Plot. It fizzled out when one, Christian Wakeford, announced a shock defection to Labor.

Anger among Tory MPs surged again as Sue Gray’s report on lockdown parties found “mismanagement” in No10 and police announced they would investigate 12 gatherings at Downing Street and Whitehall.

Things then got worse when the Prime Minister tried to defend himself by slandering Keir Starmer and repeating a far-right smear that he had failed to prosecute Jimmy Savile. Five staff members left No10 in the aftermath, including Munira Mirza, one of his senior advisers, who left with a scathing attack on the prime minister.

Mr Johnson managed to stabilize the ship through staffing changes at No 10 and that – coupled with a focus on the Russia-Ukraine war – meant some Tory MPs withdrew their letters.

But the call to stop was raised again after Sue Gray’s final report showed he toasted with fizz on November 13, 2020 – the day he solemnly promised there would be no party at No10.

More than two dozen MPs publicly called for their leader’s resignation – but letters to the 1922 committee are private, meaning more called for their boss to be removed without commenting to the press.

A full list of Tory MPs who have publicly called for the Prime Minister’s resignation can be found here.

Continue reading

Continue reading No-confidence vote in Boris Johnson held TODAY as 54 Tory MPs demand he be ousted

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button