Outstanding journalism recognized at the Media Freedom Awards

Campaign and investigative journalism has been honored at the Editors’ Association’s first Media Freedom Award.

His winners have been praised for their “courage, dedication and bravery” and “important work” in holding accountable power.

The awards night at London’s Underglobe Theater saw the Daily Mirror named Media Foundation of the Year, while Netherlands-based open source platform Bellingcat was named Media Foundation. international news of the year.

PA Media has been awarded the Judges’ Media Freedom Award for advocating for open justice on behalf of the broader news industry.


Peter Clifton, editor-in-chief of PA Media, receives the Jury’s Media Freedom award, from left to right, Michelle Donelan, Dawn Alford and ITV host Lucrezia Millarini (James Manning/PA)

Dawn Alford, executive director of the society, said: “The winners of the Media Freedom Award not only highlight the exceptional standard of journalism in the public good, but also courage, dedication, and dedication. dedication and courage of journalists in the UK, who frequently operate in dangerous and life-threatening environments both at home and abroad.

“We are honored to recognize their outstanding achievements and thank them for the important work they have done to hold accountability and reporting on behalf of the public.”

Regarding the PA’s win, editor-in-chief Pete Clifton said: “PA is passionate about open justice and I’m delighted that it has been recognized by the Association of Editors.

“We are in courts around the country, day in and day out, to make sure justice is done and our journalists are never shy about challenging limited court orders. their right to report proceedings.

“Playing our part in the camera during the trial is another step forward for open justice.”

Pippa Crerar was named Journalist of the Year for her film “Partygate” while she was the Daily Mirror’s political editor.

Video of the day

The newspaper also won the Investigator of the Year award for its reports on the Covid lockdown at the heart of the Government.

The Daily Mail was awarded Campaign of the Year for exposing the dangers of smart motorways and the Young Campaigner Award went to Mail reporter Isaan Khan for investigating allegations of racism at the Yorkshire Cricket Club.


Investigative and advocacy journalism was hosted at the Editors’ Association Media Freedom Awards in London (James Manning/PA)

The Mail also won a Freedom of Information Award for its monopoly on how the justice system allows more than 22,000 unchallenged subpoenas against individuals who fail to file a lawsuit.

Portsmouth News has won its Regional Campaign of the Year for its work against controversial £1.2 billion Aquind connected device proposals between France and the city of Hampshire.

Belfast’s Sunday Life has won Area Investigative of the Year award as the exclusive Remembrance Sunday became a “show of strength” by one of Northern Ireland’s largest criminal and paramilitary groups, South East Antrim OUCH.

The Scotsman’s Connor Matchett was named Regional Journalist of the Year for the exclusive cover work with which ministers intervened in the publication of Covid care home mortality figures ahead of the Holyrood election year 2021.

TV show winners include BBC’s Panorama for its investigation into the Post Office Horizon scandal while Sky News’ Alex Crawford was awarded Foreign Correspondent of the Year for her reporting. from Afghanistan and Ukraine.

The Voice – Britain’s only surviving black newspaper – has been awarded the Special Jury Prize to honor 40 years of community advocacy.

The Bob Satchwell Prize – in memory of the society’s founding director who passed away in 2021 – is presented to the individuals and organizations behind the crown court camera buying campaign that saw earlier this year Sentencing remarks were broadcast from the Old Bailey in a landmark legal first.

Culture Secretary Michelle Donelan attended the awards ceremony with more than 200 journalists from all sectors of the UK news media.

The awards were presented by Lucrezia Millarini of ITV News, organized in association with WeShop and sponsored by Camelot, Google News Initiative and Newsworks.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/exceptional-journalism-recognised-at-media-freedom-awards-42132728.html Outstanding journalism recognized at the Media Freedom Awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button