Pay attention to the NEW WhatsApp warning – it means you made a big mistake

A NEW WhatsApp pop-up prevents you from taking screenshots of View Once messages.

It means you tried to do something that will soon not be allowed on WhatsApp.

Screenshot blocking is part of a trio of new changes coming to WhatsApp

1

Screenshot blocking is part of a trio of new changes coming to WhatsAppCredit: WhatsApp

The new app change is expected to roll out soon.

It was announced by Meta and WhatsApp boss Mark Zuckerberg earlier this month as part of a trio of new features.

And it’s designed to prevent users from taking screenshots of messages that should go away.

The pop-up window says “Screenshot has been blocked for privacy reasons.”

New WhatsApp hack lets you recover deleted texts — but there's a catch
I'm a WhatsApp detective - here are NINE top secret changes for the app

As revealed by WABetaInfowarns the view-once feature: “This is a view-once photo, so it’s more private.

“It disappears from the chat after you close it.

“Furthermore, you cannot share, forward, copy, save or take a screenshot of it.”

Unfortunately, the feature isn’t fully waterproof, as recently revealed by The sun.

A rogue chatter could simply use another device to capture a photo or video of the screen.

There is no way for WhatsApp to prevent this.

As always, the best advice is to be very careful about what you share online.

If you don’t want something to be available or shared on the internet, avoid sending it to others.

Even people you trust now might not be so loyal in the future.

And someone could save an image and end up being hacked themselves.

Blocking screenshots on disappearing messages adds a significant additional layer of security.

But you can’t completely rely on it – so always be careful who you send pictures, videos or even texts to.

If an image is highly sensitive, you should show the person in real life or find a safer way to get your message across.

That said, it’s still a good idea to use View Once wherever you can, as it’s better than leaving an image open forever.

“View Once is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that doesn’t require a permanent digital record,” WhatsApp explained in a new blog post.

Why you should NEVER wear flip flops or sandals on a plane
We're disgusted after AA stuck us for 24 hours - it was ridiculous

“Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an extra layer of protection.”

The feature is currently in the testing phase and according to WhatsApp it will be “rolled out soon”.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9276119/whatsapp-warning-view-once-screenshot-blocking-alert/ Pay attention to the NEW WhatsApp warning – it means you made a big mistake

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button