Queen’s Honors system explained – how to be nominated for an honour?

Receiving an honor from the Queen is not an easy task that requires a lot of work – both in terms of contribution to Britain and in the long application process

Royal tributes to the Queen's birthday are a national tradition to recognize the hard work of people across the Commonwealth
Royal tributes to the Queen’s birthday are a national tradition to recognize the hard work of people across the Commonwealth – but her birthday isn’t the only time honors have been bestowed on her

Receiving a tribute from the Queen means receiving recognition for an outstanding achievement by Britain.

The government says the aim of the honors system is to recognize people who have “made achievements in public life” and “made a commitment to serve and help Britain”.

It also adds that “they usually have made other people’s lives better or excel at what they do”.

This year the honors feel particularly important as it is the year of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.

Although awards often go to famous faces, this is not always the case as local heroes are also recognized for their efforts in their own communities.

But how does one receive an honor from the Queen, and what are the different types of titles awarded?

How do you get an honor from the Queen?

Royal honors are presented during the Queen’s Birthday Jubilee Weekend


POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

In general, to receive an honor from the Queen, one must be nominated.

A detailed description of why the nomination is being made is required and requires the following under the governor Website:

  • Your candidate’s name, age, address and contact details
  • Details of any relevant work or volunteering they have done
  • Details of any awards or other recognition they have received
  • Two letters of support to support your nomination – these should be from people who know the nominee personally

When making your nomination, you may also want to include supporting evidence such as articles, photos, or letters.

Nominees must not know that they are being considered.

The decision as to who actually receives an award is made by the specially established Honors Committee, which includes high-ranking officials and non-government affiliates.

Recommendations from the committee then go to the Prime Minister and then to the Queen herself, who awards them. First, however, some controls are carried out by various government agencies.

The awards are then mailed to the recipients, and if they accept, they are invited to a formal ceremony. At the ceremony, they are bestowed their regalia by either the Queen herself or a member of the Royal Family.

Known as Investitures, they usually take place at Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle or the Palace of Holyroodhouse

When will the Queen’s honors be unveiled?

Queen’s tributes are announced twice a year. Once in June, at the so-called birthday celebrations, and again at the turn of the year. It’s called New Year’s Honors.

What types of honors are there?

Professor Peter Horby, joint lead investigator for the Coronavirus Treatment Search Recovery Study, was knighted on the Queen’s Birthday Honors List in 2021



There are different types of awards people can receive and each reflects different levels of commitment to Britain and the nature of the contribution.

companion of honor – an important contribution to art, science, medicine or government.

knight or lady – an important contribution, usually at national level, which is usually inspirational or meaningful.

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) – an outstanding but less significant contribution at national level or an “excellent innovative contribution in your field”.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) – Make a significant contribution to each on-site activity. It can also lead to national recognition.

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) – “Outstanding achievement or service to the community”, it is exemplary and has a significant long-term impact.

British Empire Medal (BEM) – This is awarded to people who have provided ‘hands on’ service to the community through long term charity activities.

Royal Victorian Order (RVO) – given by the Queen to people who helped her personally.

Continue reading

Continue reading

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/queens-honours-system-explained-how-27108941 Queen's Honors system explained - how to be nominated for an honour?

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button