REM, Blondie and Snoop Dogg nominated for Songwriters Hall

Bryan Adams, REM, Blondie, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Heart and The Doobie Brothers are among the nominees for the 2023 Songwriters Hall of Fame.

His votes include musical duo Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, who wrote Ragtime and Anastasia, as well as soul-jazz vocalist Sade, whose 1980s soft rock hits include Smooth Operator and The Sweetest Taboo.

Two veteran rock stars were also nominated: Patti Smith — for songs Because the Night and Dancing Barefoot — and Steve Winwood for hits like Higher Love and Roll With It.

Vince Gill is nominated again, first voting in 2018.

Eligible voting members have until December 28 to vote with their choice of three nominees from the songwriter category and three from the performer category.

ELO’s Jeff Lynne, who wrote Mr Blue Sky and Evil Woman, faces off against the Losing My Religion REM quartet led by Michael Stipe, as well as Heart’s sisters Ann and Nancy Wilson, who have shown supporting characters. girls can go crazy with songs like Barracuda and You’re Crazy.

Debbie Harry, Chris Stein and Clem Burke are eligible to join the halls as Blondie, who brought us New Wave hits Call Me and Rapture, and Snoop Dogg will join rappers like Missy Elliott and Jay-Z if he makes the list.

Estefan is credited with popularizing Latin rhythms with medleys like Rhythm Is Gonna Get You and Let’s Get Loud.


Snoop Dogg (Matt Crossick/PA)

Two classic rock icons compete as Adams – with radio staples like Summer of 69 and Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman? — compete with the Doobie Brothers and their ever-revolving Listen To The Music and Long Train Running shows.

Nominees for working behind the scenes include Glen Ballard, who helped write Alanis Morissette’s 1995 monster album Jagged Little Pill and has been involved in the recording and writing of Michael’s Thriller, Bad and Dangerous albums. Jackson.

Veteran musician Tom Snow, who has worked with Olivia Newton-John, Barbra Streisand, Cher, The Pointer Sisters and co-wrote Let’s Hear It For The Boy from the film Footloose, is also eligible.

Footloose connects with another contender, Dean Pitchford, whose collaboration hit #1 on the Billboard album chart, knocking Thriller out in 1984.

The list of nominees includes Teddy Riley, the singer, songwriter, and producer credited with creating New Jack Swing and its top songs like Bobby Brown’s My Prerogative and Keith Sweat’s I Want Her, and Liz Rose. , who co-wrote many songs with Taylor Swift, including You Belong with Me, Teardrops On My Guitar, and White Horse.

There is also country musician Dean Dillon, who wrote songs with Toby Keith, George Strait and Lee Ann Womack; pop musician Franne Golde, behind such hits as Jody Watley’s Don’t You Want Me and Commodores’ Nightshift; and the duo Bobby Hart and Tommy Boyce, who wrote many hits of The Monkees.

The Musicians Hall of Fame was established in 1969 to honor the creators of popular music. A musician with a notable track record will be eligible to participate 20 years after a song’s initial commercial release.

Some of those present in the hall included Carole King, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora, Sir Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty, Lionel Richie, Bill Withers, Neil Diamond and Phil Collins. REM, Blondie and Snoop Dogg nominated for Songwriters Hall

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button