Some of Braveheart’s best scenes never ended on film

In the story of “Braveheart”, Wallace left his hometown as a young man to study abroad, leaving behind his childhood girlfriend, Murron. Upon returning as adults, William and Murron continued where they had left off, and eventually married in secret. Murron is eventually attacked by British soldiers, and as William fends them off, Murron is kidnapped and executed. Murron’s death will inspire William to take up the sword and lead a revolution against the British, a villain and a sexist. In 1994, a year before the release of “Braveheart,” author Gail Simone referred to the term “fridging” as a popular, sexist joke in the novel. Relating to a Green Lantern comic in which the story’s heroine is killed and stuffed in a refrigerator, “fridging” is a ploy to kill a female character merely to give the male character more autonomy. in their own stories.

However, Fridging was an acceptable enough move at the time to earn Wallace an Academy Award nomination. And, indeed, in his vision, the clichΓ© could have been toned down with the inclusion of Murron in additional scenes. Wallace’s original plan was to include Murron throughout the film, appearing with Wallace in his dreams to provide commentary on his actions. Wallace says:

“I originally wrote three different dream sequences when William was visited by Murron. She died too early in the story and I felt that would make us want to feel how the person we loved the most continued on. keep coming back to us.”

https://www.slashfilm.com/975778/some-of-bravehearts-best-scenes-never-ended-up-on-film/ Some of Braveheart’s best scenes never ended on film

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button