Stars of British television walk the red carpet at the Bafta TV Awards

Famous faces from the world of British television will walk the red carpet for the Bafta TV Awards on Sunday in London.

Icola Coughlan, Jodie Comer and Ant and Dec are among the confirmed attendees at the event at Southbank’s Royal Festival Hall.

Hosted by comedian Richard Ayoade, the event celebrates the best of British television with multiple awards.


It’s A Sin stars Nathaniel Curtis and Olly Alexander at the National Television Awards (Ian West/PA)

Channel 4 series It’s A Sin leads the nominations with a total of seven after winning two Bafta TV Craft Awards last month.

Written and created by Queer As Folk and Doctor Who screenwriter Russell T Davies, the series follows a group of gay men and their friends as they navigated the UK’s HIV/AIDS crisis in the 80’s and early 90’s.

Three of the show’s stars, Callum Scott Howells, Omari Douglas and David Carlyle, will compete in the Best Supporting Actor category.

Years and Years singer Olly Alexander is in the running for the Best Actor award for his role on the series.

He has competition from David Thewlis for Landscapers, Hugh Quarshie for Stephen, Samuel Adewunmi for You Don’t Know Me, Sean Bean for Time and Stephen Graham for Help.

Graham is a two-time nominee who also received an award for BBC prison drama Time in the supporting actor category.

video of the day

Award-winning British singer George Ezra will open the event on the red carpet with a performance of his new single Green Green Grass.

BBC Radio One presenter Vick Hope, reality TV star Sam Thompson and TV presenter Zeze Millz will be hosting the show on the red carpet, with coverage on Bafta’s social media channels from 2pm.

During the ceremony, the awards will be presented by a host of well-known faces from British television and beyond, including Sex Education’s Aimee Lou Wood, Academy Award winner Olivia Colman, Olympic gold medalist Tom Daley and Heartstopper star Joe Locke.

Martin Freeman, Katie Piper, Lee Mack, Lorraine Kelly, Michelle Keegan, Ncuti Gatwa, Munya Chawawa, Ross Kemp, Yung Filly and Rochelle Humes will also present awards throughout the evening.

The Virgin Media Bafta TV Awards will be broadcast live on BBC One and BBC iPlayer on 8 May at 6pm.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/stars-of-british-television-to-walk-the-red-carpet-at-bafta-tv-awards-41626919.html Stars of British television walk the red carpet at the Bafta TV Awards

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button