The ICMSA president is set to become the organization’s longest-serving leader in 50 years

ICMSA President Pat McCormack is on track to become the longest-serving farm organization leader in half a century.

he Tipperary man begins his seventh year as President following the recent Annual General Meeting in Limerick as the beneficiary of a recent rule change in the organisation.

He was elected Vice-President in December 2016 after six years and, under the organization’s existing rules, was eligible to serve as Chair for a maximum of three consecutive two-year terms.

As part of a major review of the organizational rulebook, recently approved by the association’s National Council, the presidential term was extended to three years and the maximum number of consecutive terms a president can serve was reduced to two.

As part of the rule change from a two-year term to a three-year term, Pat McCormack will benefit from an extra year in his final term and is now scheduled not to step down from the leadership until December 2023.

He is the second Tipperary farm leader to benefit from an extended presidency due to a change in organizational rules.

The late TJ Maher of Boherlahan had served the maximum consecutive term as President of the National Farmers Association (NFA) when he was electable to the Irish Farmers Association (IFA) following the change of name and rules of the association and was unopposed for four years as the first IFA President.

The leader in the Munster constituency in the 1979 European Parliament elections, served three consecutive terms at EU level as an independent candidate and was ranked as one of Ireland’s greatest farm leaders.

The record books show that Tipperary has provided the highest number of presidents for the leading agricultural organizations – NFA, IFA, ICMSA, Macra – of any county since the inception of agricultural organizations.

Toomevara’s Tim Cullinan is the current IFA leader while John Keane, President Macra na Feirme, is a member of the Devils Bit Macra Branch, Templemore and farms on the Tipperary-Laois border. The ICMSA president is set to become the organization’s longest-serving leader in 50 years

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button