The long list of female fiction awards has been announced

Louise Erdrich, Leone Ross and Catherine Chidgey are among the shortlisted novelists for this year’s Women’s Fiction Prize.

His 16 novels explore themes including belonging, identity, the power of nature, female friendship, intergenerational trauma and the burden of history stretching from England to Trinidad.

Now in its 27th year, the prestigious £30,000 award goes to original novels written in English by women from all over the world.

In addition to author and jury chair Mary Ann Sieghart, the jury included author Lorraine Candy, best-selling novelist Dorothy Koomson, journalist Anita Sethi and broadcaster Pandora Sykes.


Quote by Louise Erdrich (Female Award for Fiction / PA)

Sieghart said choosing 16 novels from 175 entries was a “marathon mission”.

“After a lively and passionate discussion, my fellow judges were delighted to find that 16 of our favorite novels are incredibly diverse, written by women of all ages from all over the world. around the world, covering different genres and from publishers large and small.

“We are confident that this wonderful, eclectic and inspiring long list will offer something for every reader, male and female,” she added.

The 2022 long list features both debut and acclaimed authors, with five British, six American, two New Zealanders, one Turkish-British, one Canadian-American and one writer Trinidadians.


The Remote Empathy of the (Women Award for Fiction / PA)

Video of the day

Pulitzer Prize winner Erdrich, whose name is on the longest list of Stories, is the most prolific publisher with 23 novels.

Shortlisted writers Ross and Chidgey are also on the list, for This One Sky Day and Remote Sympathy respectively.

Writers Elif Shafak and Rachel Elliott also previously made the longlist while Charlotte Mendelson also made the shortlist in 2008.

The shortlist for the Women of Fiction award will be announced on April 27 and winners will be awarded on June 15 at an evening ceremony in central London.

The full list of candidates is:

The Bread The Devil Knead by Lisa Allen
Salt Lick by Lulu Allison
Careless by Kirsty Capes
Catherine Chidgey’s Remote Sympathy
Miranda Cowley’s Paper Palace
Flamingo by Rachel Elliott
Sentences of Louise Erdrich
Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith
Sorrow And Bliss by Meg Mason
The Exhibitionist by Charlotte Mendelson
Ruth Ozeki’s Book of Form and Emptiness
This One Sky Day by Leone Ross
Island of Lost Trees by Elif Shafak
Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead
The Last Resurrection of Opal and Nev by Dawnie Walton
Creatures Of Passage by Morowa Yejidé The long list of female fiction awards has been announced

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button