The nominees for the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards have been announced

BT Sport, in partnership with The Independent, today announced the nominees for the tenth annual BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards.

In a historic year full of successes for women’s sport, six athletes were recognized for outstanding achievements.

England’s Lionesses were crowned European Champions after a memorable win over Germany in the final at Wembley, with Beth Mead winning the Golden Boot and Player of the Tournament.

At the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, 18-year-old Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix secured double gold in diving, Hannah Cockroft continued her record of winning gold in all major athletics championships in wheelchair racing and Eilish McColgan broke a new Commonwealth record 10,000m up.

Elsewhere, Eve Muirhead led Team GB to curling gold at the 2022 Winter Olympics and MMA fighter Molly McCann triumphed at UFC London as the only British woman on the card.

Based on the athletes’ individual performances, a shortlist of nominees was selected by a panel of judges that included BT Sport’s Clare Balding.

(BT Sport)

“This year has seen exceptional achievements in sport, from the European Women’s Championship to the Commonwealth Games,” said BT Sport presenter Balding. “Being able to honor these extraordinary athletes and their outstanding efforts is a testament to their individual journeys. I am delighted to be working with BT Sport to shine a spotlight on our inspirational nominees who will hopefully inspire a new generation of female athletes to pursue their dreams.”

BT Sport Action Woman of the Year nominee

Beth Mead- Soccer

Euro 2022 Golden Boot winner and Player of the Tournament Mead is also nominated for this year’s Ballon d’Or Féminin after an outstanding performance as England’s star striker this summer.

Mead enjoyed a sparkling summer

(The FA via Getty Images)

Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix – Diving

The 18-year-old has had a breakthrough year in diving, winning gold medals in the 10m jump and 10m synchronized sprint with Noah Williams and a silver medal in the 10m synchronized sprint at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham Women with Eden Cheng.

Hannah Cockroft – Athletics

Cockcroft won gold in the 100m T33/34 at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, completing the series of gold medals in all major athletics championships. The 30-year-old competed in the Commonwealth Games for the first time and set a new game record time of 16.84.

Molly McCann-MMA

McCann gave an electrifying performance at The O2 at UFC London in March. In a homecoming fight and with a contract extension at stake, Molly set the octagon on fire in a duel with Brazil’s Luisa Carolina. The Liverpudlian unleashed a reverse spin elbow to the temple, knocking out her opponent. As the only British fighter on the card that night, Molly raised the flag for all the up and coming MMA fighters in the UK.

Eilish McColgan – Athletics

McColgan started the year by breaking British records in the Dubai 5K road race and the European 10K record. The Scottish runner then won the first major title of her career at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Eilish took the gold medal in the 10,000m final in style, setting a new game record and silver in the 5000m. This victory marked Scotland’s 500th overall Commonwealth Games medal.

McColgan was in the best shape of her career this summer

(PA wire)

Eve Muirhead – curling

Muirhead led Team GB to gold at the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics, leading her team to a 10-3 win over Japan to capture their first Olympic title and secure Team GB’s only gold medal at the Games. The Scot also teamed up with Olympic silver medalist Bobby Lammie to win the World Mixed Doubles Championship in Geneva to turn it into a full set of curling gold medals.

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday 16 November and will be streamed live for everyone on BT Sport, online, Facebook and YouTube.

The vote is now open to the public until November 9th The nominees for the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards have been announced

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button