Three of the WORST iPhone mistakes you can make — and they could cost you

Don’t make simple iPhone mistakes that could be easily avoided.

If you want to avoid hacks, leaks, cyber-snooping, and more, here are three iPhone mistakes you mustn’t make.

Setting up iCloud Keychain can be a real lifesaver

1

Setting up iCloud Keychain can be a real lifesaverPhoto credit: Apple/The Sun

Password reuse

There is almost no excuse to reuse passwords these days.

We’re constantly being told to choose complicated passwords – and it’s never been easier to do just that.

iCloud Keychain remembers the passwords you type on your phone, encrypts them, and stores them in the cloud.

You're Spelling WRONG - Three Clever New iPhone Messages Hacks Revealed
Apple makes BIG changes to your iPhone after fans moan about new features

This allows you to choose very strong passwords without having to remember them – your phone simply enters them for you when you log in.

This is one of the best defenses against hackers.

“iCloud Keychain remembers things so you don’t have to,” Apple explains.

“It automatically fills in your information — like your Safari usernames and passwords, credit cards, Wi-Fi networks, and social network logins — on any device you authorize.

“iCloud Keychain stores your passwords and credit card information in a way that Apple can’t read or access.”

And the Safari web browser now has a special feature called Strong Passwords.

When you log into a service on Safari, you are given the option to use an automatically generated password that is very difficult for hackers to crack.

This password is automatically stored in your iCloud keychain, so you don’t even have to remember it.

On your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch, do the following:

  • Tap Settings > [your name] > iCloud (on iOS 10.2 or earlier it’s just Settings > iCloud)
  • Tap Keychain
  • Tap the slider to turn on iCloud Keychain

There’s even a new system introduced in iOS 16 called Passkey that can make your account even more secure — by letting you sign in without a password at all.

Do not use automatic deletion

If you lose one iPhonestolen or someone nearby is trying to break in, it is possible that someone might gain entry.

One way is to use passwords, hoping you dialed a simple number like 000000 or 123456.

These simple passwords are a good option for crooks trying to gain access to your cell phone.

You can enable a special data wipe feature to make your iPhone wipe itself when there are too many failed passcode attempts.

Enabling the setting means your iPhone will be erased after 10 passcode attempts.

This will remove all your personal information from the device.

Important: Even if your data is deleted from your iPhone, you should not lose it completely.

This is because the data will not be deleted from your iCloud.

So as long as you have regular backups on iCloud, you should be safe.

This means that the person who hijacked your iPhone cannot get their hands on your private photos, texts and more.

And if you replace your iPhone, you can use iCloud to restore it to almost the same condition as your previous model.

How you do that?

Go to Settings > Face ID & Passcode, then enter your passcode.

Then scroll all the way down and toggle the wipe data switch to the on position.

However, be careful of using this feature if you have young children who get access to your iPhone on a regular basis as they may accidentally erase it.

Let apps track you

A simple change to your iPhone settings to stop ads from tracking you across the web.

The app tracking transparency feature gives you control over which apps you can track.

When you download and open a new app, you’ll get a notification asking if you want to allow the app to track your activity across other companies’ apps and websites.

You’ll also see information about what the app would be tracking.

At this point, tap Ask app not to track to block this activity or Allow.

To opt out of app tracking for any app, download it by going to Settings, then Privacy, then Tracking.

Then turn off Allow apps to request tracking.

The result is that any app that tries to ask for permission will automatically be blocked from asking and you’ll be informed that you’ve requested not to be tracked.

After that, according to Apple, all apps will be blocked from accessing your device’s information used for advertising.

For apps that have already been downloaded and may have tracking permissions set up, you can still enable or disable those permissions.

To do this, go to Settings, tap an app, and then tap to turn off Allow Tracking.

Alternatively, go to Settings, then Privacy, then Tracking, and tap to toggle each app on the list on or off.

The best tips and hacks for phones and gadgets

blank

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find these secret features in social media apps? We’ve got you covered…

Get the latest news about WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadgets here.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science Team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


https://www.thesun.ie/tech/9448870/iphone-mistakes-warning-security/ Three of the WORST iPhone mistakes you can make — and they could cost you

Fry Electronics Team

Fry Electronics.com is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@fry-electronics.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button