Tour de France 2022 Stage 20 ITT LIVE: Jonas Vingegaard will seal the yellow jersey in the individual time trial

<p>Ineos’ Filippo Ganna is favorite to win the stage </p>
<p>” src=”” srcset=” .uk/2022/07/01/18/AFP_32DM493.jpg?quality=75&width=320&auto=webp&crop=982:726,smart 320w, AFP_32DM493.jpg?quality=75&width=640&auto=webp&crop=982:726,smart 640w”/></amp-img><figcaption class=

Ineos’ Filippo Ganna is favorite to win the stage

(AFP via Getty Images)

The 2022 Tour de France moves to the hills of southern France today for the final stage of competition before tomorrow’s procession to Paris, with this Stage 20 individual time trial from the clifftop village of Rocamadour to Lacapelle-Marival, a small town known for its chateau.

The track is a 41km road that contains some bumps and gives some scope for time gains, but it would take some really dramatic things to see the podium positions shift now. Jonas Vingegaard is three minutes clear of reigning champion Tadej Pogacar on his way to his first Tour de France crown and realistically the Dane only needs to avoid a fall to secure the yellow jersey. Likewise, Geraint Thomas is three minutes clear of fourth, France’s David Gaudu, and will secure his third career podium at the Tour de France if he crosses the course safely.

The riders will start in reverse order, so Australian sprinter Caleb Ewan will be the first to contest this time trial as the bearer of the race Lantern Rouge, starting around 12pm in the UK. Stage 1 time trial winner Yves Lampaert starts at 12:39, time trial champion Filippo Ganna at 13:05, favorite Wout van Aert starts at 15:16 while the yellow jersey last starts at 16:00.

Follow all the action from level 20 below.


Level 20 time trial map, profile and checkpoints

There are three checkpoints along this route before the finish: CP1 with 30 km to go, CP2 with 19 km to go and CP3 with 8 km to go.

(leave our)

(leave our)


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE

The fastest driver through the first checkpoint so far is Tadej Pogacar’s teammate Mikkel Bjerg, the 23-year-old Dane who has a great pedigree against time with junior world titles. He goes through at 12 minutes 37 seconds and no one is within half a minute of their mark.

Peter Sagan is the newest driver to come down the ramp.


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE

Here is Yves Lampaert, QuickStep’s Belgian rider who won the time trial of stage one in Copenhagen. Will he attack this course and bet on the double? It doesn’t usually fare as well on longer stretches like this.

(AFP via Getty Images)


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE

Fourteen riders are out on the road, and next up is Australian Jack Bauer. A few days ago he suffered this terrible fall in a collision with a press bike. Fortunately, he escaped serious injury.


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE

The wind is blowing strongly, which could have a big impact on the result today. Yves Lampaert was perhaps a bit harshly said to have benefited from tailwinds when he won stage one in Copenhagen.


Tour de France – Stage 20 Time Trial LIVE

Filippo Ganna, the world time trial champion, is asked who will win today’s stage. “I think Wout will win,” he says with a grin, referring to the man in the green jersey, Wout van Aert, who has been sensational throughout the Tour. Van Aert finished second in the stage one time trial behind Yves Lampaert. I still make Ganna my favorite to this day when he’s feeling fresh. Not that anyone feels fresh at this stage.


So you see today on TV and online

This year’s Tour de France coverage can be found on ITV4, Eurosport, Discovery+ and GCN+ (Global Cycling Network).

Every day live races are shown on ITV4 before the highlights, usually at 19:00 every day. Times are listed on ITV’s website here.

Eurosport and GCN+ show every minute of every stage. More on Eurosport coverage here and the GCN+ coverage here.

It will also be shown on Eurosport’s Discovery+ streaming service with broadcast information here.


Stage 20 time trial start times

Some select start times today, with some potential stage winners picked from the field as well as the first man to wear them lantern blush and the last three go to the podium.

1 Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) 12.05pm BST

17 Yves Lampaert (QuickStep) 12:39 p.m

41 Filippo Ganna (Ineos) 1:05 p.m

46 Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin) 1:12 p.m

69 Pierre Rolland (B&B) 1:47 p.m

117 Wout van Aert (Jumbo Visma) 15:16

137 Geraint Thomas (Ineos) 15:56

138 Tadej Pogacar (UAE Emirates) 15:58

139 Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo Visma) 4 p.m


Review: Christophe Laporte wins stage 19

A reminder of what happened yesterday as Christophe Laporte won stage 19 to claim his first victory on the Tour. Tour de France 2022 Stage 20 ITT LIVE: Jonas Vingegaard will seal the yellow jersey in the individual time trial

Fry Electronics Team

Fry is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button